Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-22-2011

Network loop problems with trunk between FastIron SX1600 and EdgeIron EI24A

Dear all,

I've have got a serious curio - that is causing me to scratch my head.

I am trying to setup a simple Brocade to Brocade trunk between an SX1600 and an EdgeIron 24 .  The symptoms are that everytime I set connect this trunk from both sides, I am getting a network loop.  I cannot figure out why.  The outage causes fairly catastrophic network outages on our core network, so I really want to get this issue right.

From the EdgeIron24:

Show run:

vlan 1 name DefaultVlan

!        

vlan 337 by port

tagged ethernet 1/22 to 1/24

!

vlan 369 by port

  untagged ethernet 1/1 to 1/21

   tagged ethernet 1/22 to 1/24

interface port-channel 1

interface ethernet 1/22

    switchport mode trunk

     channel-group 1

     !

     !

     interface ethernet 1/23

      switchport mode trunk

       channel-group 1

       !

       !

       interface ethernet 1/24

        switchport mode trunk

     channel-group 1

     !

     !

     !

     interface port-channel 1

      switchport mode trunk

      !

      !

      interface vlan 337

       ip address 10.103.137.250 255.255.255.0

A show version from the EdgeIron 24

Console#show version

Unit1

Serial number          :AN04050097

  Hardware version       :R01

   Number of ports        :24

    Main power status      :up

     Redundant power status :not present

     Agent(master)

      Unit id                :1

       Loader version         :2.1.0.0

        Boot rom version       :2.0.2.5

     Operation code version :2.2.4.29

From the SX1600 Configs:

Configured trunks:

Trunk ID: 458

Hw Trunk ID: 4

Ports_Configured: 2

Primary Port Monitored: Jointly

Ports         8/10    8/11   

Port Names    techni* none   

Port_Status   disable disable

Monitor       off     off    

Rx Mirr Port  N/A     N/A    

Tx Mirr Port  N/A     N/A    

Monitor Dir   N/A     N/A    

Operational trunks:

Trunk ID: 458

Hw Trunk ID: 4

Duplex: None

Speed: None                                                      

Tag: Yes

Priority: level0

Active Ports: 0

Ports         8/10    8/11   

Link_Status   down    down   

port_state    Disable Disable

show int e 8/10

GigabitEthernet8/10 is disabled, line protocol is down

  Hardware is GigabitEthernet, address is 748e.f83d.fc00 (bia 748e.f83d.fcb1)

  Configured speed auto, actual unknown, configured duplex fdx, actual unknown

  Configured mdi mode AUTO, actual unknown

  Member of 2 L2 VLANs, port is tagged, port state is DISABLED

  BPDU guard is Disabled, ROOT protect is Disabled

  Link Error Dampening is Disabled

  STP configured to ON, priority is level0

  Flow Control is config enabled, oper disabled, negotiation disabled

  Mirror disabled, Monitor disabled

  Member of active trunk ports 8/10,8/11, primary port

  Member of configured trunk ports 8/10,8/11, primary port

  Port name is technicolor-EI24-trunk

  IPG MII 96 bits-time, IPG GMII 96 bits-time

  IP MTU 10218 bytes, encapsulation ethernet

  300 second input rate: 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec, 0.00% utilization

  300 second output rate: 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec, 0.00% utilization

  19512037 packets input, 4127623369 bytes, 0 no buffer

  Received 137543 broadcasts, 15591761 multicasts, 3782733 unicasts

  0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 ignored

  0 runts, 0 giants

  22343080 packets output, 2447412606 bytes, 0 underruns

  Transmitted 3225345 broadcasts, 16011513 multicasts, 3106222 unicasts

  0 output errors, 0 collisions

  Relay Agent Information option: Disabled

show int e 8/11

GigabitEthernet8/11 is disabled, line protocol is down

  Hardware is GigabitEthernet, address is 748e.f83d.fc00 (bia 748e.f83d.fcb2)

  Configured speed auto, actual unknown, configured duplex fdx, actual unknown

  Configured mdi mode AUTO, actual unknown

  Member of 2 L2 VLANs, port is tagged, port state is DISABLED

  BPDU guard is Disabled, ROOT protect is Disabled

  Link Error Dampening is Disabled

  STP configured to ON, priority is level0

  Flow Control is config enabled, oper disabled, negotiation disabled

  Mirror disabled, Monitor disabled

  Member of active trunk ports 8/10,8/11, secondary port, primary port is 8/10

  Member of configured trunk ports 8/10,8/11, secondary port, primary port is 8/10

  No port name

  IPG MII 96 bits-time, IPG GMII 96 bits-time

  IP MTU 10218 bytes, encapsulation ethernet

  300 second input rate: 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec, 0.00% utilization

  300 second output rate: 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec, 0.00% utilization

  15172786 packets input, 1351880960 bytes, 0 no buffer

  Received 4240 broadcasts, 15167787 multicasts, 759 unicasts

  0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 ignored

  0 runts, 0 giants

  15390967 packets output, 1372537871 bytes, 0 underruns

  Transmitted 7273 broadcasts, 15383123 multicasts, 571 unicasts

  0 output errors, 0 collisions

  Relay Agent Information option: Disabled

!

interface ethernet 8/10                                          

port-name technicolor-EI24-trunk

!

Thoughts please....

Thanks

Max

Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎12-08-2009

Re: Network loop problems with trunk between FastIron SX1600 and EdgeIron EI24A

Hi Max,
I dont see SX vlan configuration but I am sure you mapped same vlan IDs on these ports on SX.
You can try configuring same number of trunk member ports on both side. 

btw I havent seen any edgeiron, is it possible to configure ip address under vlan context?

thx

serhat

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-22-2011

Re: Network loop problems with trunk between FastIron SX1600 and EdgeIron EI24A

Hello Serhat,

Thank you for your message.  I've got two VLANs mapped to this trunk - VLAN 369 and VLAN 337.  This is configured on both sides.  Anyway, the lack of VLANs attached to a trunk shouldn't cause a network loop.

Still scratching my head on this one....

Back to basics with cable testing me thinks....

Thanks

Max

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-30-2012

Re: Network loop problems with trunk between FastIron SX1600 and EdgeIron EI24A

Are you using fiber ?

Have you tried to stand up only single physical connection?

you may want to disable loop detect on both devices

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook