Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2012

NAT Question

Hello, I am trying to perform some magic with a 192.x.x.x address that a device here at work has but we don't want proliferating that ip or subnet through our network.  Here is the setup:  the device (a devious brinemaker) is connected to a layer 2 switch that trunks by fiber to another second layer switch that then trunks to a bigiron.  Our network's subnets all run through that trunk from the bigiron back to the brinemaker switch.

The bigiron then works it way out to other buidlings in our organization, its the core router for this building.

I want to nat the 192.x.x.x ip to an address we use.

The only place I could see doing that is on the trunk port on the bigiron that goes back to the brinemaker.  My assumption is that this will prevent all other traffic from flowing down the trunk and make for some very unhappy employee's.

Without having experience doing any natting on a brocade device (actually fairly new to them), is my assumption correct?  Is there a way to do this?

Thank you.

Brocadian
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎03-14-2009

Re: NAT Question

Hope, you are using old BigIron and not the newer RX version as the newer verison does not perform NAT at all.

You have to configure outside/inside interfaces. I prefer the VE inferfaces for doing this.

Then globaly define the translation

ip nat inside source static 192.x.x.x <new IP Adress>

Alex

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: NAT Question

Hi,

     The newer Bigiron/Netiron and Fastiron do not support NAT.  The Bigiron 1500 I think did.  Please post a show version, so we can see what you have.

Thanks

Michael.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-04-2012

Re: NAT Question

Thanks mschipp1, I will as soon as able, apologize for taking so long to get back you was in training for a week then a week of catchup.  They are Big Iron's 8000, ver 07.5.02T53.

I know it can do nat, my concern is that I would be natting on a trunk which other traffic would be passing through, if I do a VE and nat upon the trunk would it prevent the other traffic from flowing on the trunk?

I have included the show version as well as a quick and dirty pic of the network which I hope helps make more sense of my question.

Thank you for your help.

show ver
  SW: Version 07.5.02T53 Copyright (c) 1996-2002 Foundry Networks, Inc.
      Compiled on Feb 14 2002 at 00:37:24 labeled as B2R07502
      (3494253 bytes) from Primary b2r07502.bin
  HW: BigIron 8000 Router, SYSIF version 21
==========================================================================
SL 1: B8GMR Fiber Management Module, SYSIF 2, M2, ACTIVE
      Serial #: , CH4300299
2048 KB BRAM, SMC version 1, ICBM version 21
  512 KB PRAM(512K+0K) and 2048*8 CAM entries for DMA  0, version 0209
  512 KB PRAM(512K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA  1, version 0209
  512 KB PRAM(512K+0K) and 2048*8 CAM entries for DMA  2, version 0209
  512 KB PRAM(512K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA  3, version 0209
==========================================================================
SL 2: B24E Copper Switch Module
      Serial #: Non-exist.
2048 KB BRAM, SMC version 2, ICBM version 21
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and 2048*8 CAM entries for DMA  4, version 0808
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA  5, version 0808
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA  6, version 0808
==========================================================================
SL 3: B24E Copper Switch Module
      Serial #: Non-exist.
2048 KB BRAM, SMC version 2, ICBM version 21
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and 2048*8 CAM entries for DMA  8, version 0808
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA  9, version 0808
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA 10, version 0808
==========================================================================
SL 4: B24E Copper Switch Module
      Serial #: Non-exist.
2048 KB BRAM, SMC version 2, ICBM version 21
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and 2048*8 CAM entries for DMA 12, version 0808
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA 13, version 0808
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA 14, version 0808
==========================================================================
SL 5: B24E Copper Switch Module
      Serial #: Non-exist.
2048 KB BRAM, SMC version 2, ICBM version 21
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and 2048*8 CAM entries for DMA 16, version 0808
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA 17, version 0808
  256 KB PRAM(256K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA 18, version 0808
==========================================================================
SL 8: B8GC Copper Switch Module, SYSIF 2
      Serial #: Non-exist.
2048 KB BRAM, SMC version 1, ICBM version 21
  512 KB PRAM(512K+0K) and 2048*8 CAM entries for DMA 28, version 0209
  512 KB PRAM(512K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA 29, version 0209
  512 KB PRAM(512K+0K) and 2048*8 CAM entries for DMA 30, version 0209
  512 KB PRAM(512K+0K) and shared CAM entries for DMA 31, version 0209
==========================================================================
Active management module:
  240 MHz Power PC processor 603 (version 7/1201) 66 MHz bus
  512 KB boot flash memory
8192 KB code flash memory
  256 KB SRAM
  128 MB DRAM
The system uptime is 172 days 12 hours 11 minutes 54 seconds
The system started at 21:05:36 GMT-05 Wed Feb 01 2012

The system : started=cold start  

network.jpg

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook