Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎07-20-2015

ICX7150 Cannot Set Copper SFP to Auto Negotiate... Why not???

[ Edited ]

Why can't I set a copper SFP to AutoNegotiate?  It is a Genuine Brocade 33002-000 module in a 7150-48P

 

Running:

Copyright (c) 1996-2017 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc. All rights reserved.
UNIT 1: compiled on Apr 18 2017 at 18:52:32 labeled as SPS08060a
(23948556 bytes) from Primary SPS08060a.bin
SW: Version 08.0.60aT211
Compressed Boot-Monitor Image size = 786944, Version:10.1.09T225 (mnz10109)
Compiled on Fri Feb 17 19:15:43 2017

HW: Stackable ICX7150-48-POE
==========================================================================
UNIT 1: SL 1: ICX7150-48P-4X1G POE 48-port Management Module
Serial #:<Redacted>
Current License: 4X1G
P-ASIC 0: type B160, rev 11 Chip BCM56160_B0
==========================================================================
UNIT 1: SL 2: ICX7150-2X1GC 2-port 2G Module
==========================================================================
UNIT 1: SL 3: ICX7150-4X10GF 4-port 40G Module
==========================================================================
1000 MHz ARM processor ARMv7 88 MHz bus
8192 KB boot flash memory
2048 MB code flash memory
1024 MB DRAM
STACKID 1 system uptime is 13 minute(s) 12 second(s)
The system started at 00:22:55 GMT+00 Sat Jan 01 2000

The system : started=warm start reloaded=by "reload"

 

 

ICX7150-48P Switch#conf t

ICX7150-48P Switch(config)#

 

[Pushed module into SFP+ slot]


ICX7150-48P Switch(config)#Optics detected on 1/3/3

ICX7150-48P Switch(config)#sh media | inc 1/3/3
Port 1/3/3: Type : 1G M-TX(SFP)


ICX7150-48P Switch(config)#int e 1/3/3
ICX7150-48P Switch(config-if-e10000-1/3/3)#sp
spanning-tree Set STP port parameters
speed-duplex Set to 10g, 1000, 100, 10, 2500 for 2.5G on
ICX7450-32P, half or full
ICX7150-48P Switch(config-if-e10000-1/3/3)#spee
speed-duplex Set to 10g, 1000, 100, 10, 2500 for 2.5G on
ICX7450-32P, half or full
ICX7150-48P Switch(config-if-e10000-1/3/3)#speed-duplex
10-full 10M, full duplex
10-half 10M, half duplex
100-full 100M, full duplex
100-half 100M, half duplex
1000-full 1G, full duplex
1000-full-master 1G, full duplex, master
1000-full-slave 1G, full duplex, slave
10g-full 10G, full duplex
10g-full-master 10G, full duplex, master
10g-full-slave 10G, full duplex, slave
2500-full 2.5G, full duplex
2500-full-master 2.5G, full duplex, master
2500-full-slave 2.5G, full duplex, slave
auto Autonegotiation
ICX7150-48P Switch(config-if-e10000-1/3/3)#speed-duplex au
auto Autonegotiation
ICX7150-48P Switch(config-if-e10000-1/3/3)#speed-duplex auto
This CLI operation is not applicable to port 1/3/3

ICX7150-48P Switch(config-if-e10000-1/3/3)#sh int e 1/3/3
10GigabitEthernet1/3/3 is down, line protocol is down
Port down for 6 minute(s) 38 second(s)
Hardware is 10GigabitEthernet, address is 609c.9fea.8b85 (bia 609c.9fea.8b85)
Configured speed 1Gbit, actual unknown, configured duplex fdx, actual unknown
Member of L2 VLAN ID 1, port is untagged, port state is BLOCKING
BPDU guard is Disabled, ROOT protect is Disabled, Designated protect is Disabled
Link Error Dampening is Disabled
STP configured to ON, priority is level0, mac-learning is enabled
Flow Control is enabled
Mirror disabled, Monitor disabled
Mac-notification is disabled
Not member of any active trunks
Not member of any configured trunks
No port name
IPG XGMII 96 bits-time
MTU 1500 bytes
300 second input rate: 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec, 0.00% utilization
300 second output rate: 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec, 0.00% utilization
0 packets input, 0 bytes, 0 no buffer
Received 0 broadcasts, 0 multicasts, 0 unicasts
0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 ignored
0 runts, 0 giants
0 packets output, 0 bytes, 0 underruns
Transmitted 0 broadcasts, 0 multicasts, 0 unicasts
0 output errors, 0 collisions
Relay Agent Information option: Disabled

This port is not being monitored for queue drops
Egress queues:
Queue counters Queued packets Dropped Packets
0 0 0
1 0 0
2 0 0
3 0 0
4 0 0
5 0 0
6 0 0
7 0 0

ICX7150-48P Switch(config-if-e10000-1/3/3)#

 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎07-20-2015

Re: ICX7150 Cannot Set Copper SFP to Auto Negotiate... Why not???

Here is the Module Info:

 

SIMS1612-H8598#sh media e 1/3/3
Port 1/3/3: Type : 1G M-TX(SFP)
Vendor: BROCADE Version: A
Part# : 33002-000 Serial#: <redacted>

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎07-18-2016

Re: ICX7150 Cannot Set Copper SFP to Auto Negotiate... Why not???

Hi,

 

Slot 3 is for uplinks and stacking. I assume you are connecting this port to another switch. If so, this may be by design. You can set auto to port 1/1/1-1/1/48 correct?

 

Pleasee open a Tac ticket to confirm slot 3 port limitations.

 

- Bill

Any and all information provided by me is for entertainment value and should not be relied upon as a guaranteed solution or warranty of merchantability. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a concern about data loss, or network disconnection, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, Please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎07-20-2015

Re: ICX7150 Cannot Set Copper SFP to Auto Negotiate... Why not???

Ineed... 1/1/1 to 1/1/48 are actually copper ports that are auto/auto unless you go out of your way to manually set them differently.

 

I was just saying... it makes sense if you put in a copper module that it would be configureable to auto wherease a fiber module runs at only one speed i.e. 1000BaseSX runs would certianly NOT have any negotiation options.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎07-12-2011

Re: ICX7150 Cannot Set Copper SFP to Auto Negotiate... Why not???

The Uplink ports will only operate at 10G or 1G, since your SFP will only work at 1G there is no point in setting a speed setting, this is consistent with 10G/1G across the FastIron portfolio. If you need to set speed to 10M or 100M or duplex then you will need to use one of the native copper interfaces.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎07-20-2015

Re: ICX7150 Cannot Set Copper SFP to Auto Negotiate... Why not???

Nope... the exact same SFP works in a 6610 at 10/100/1000 for the 1G M-TX(SFP)

 

Now, obviously the SX, LX etc work at 1G and the SR, LR work at 10G

 

 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎07-12-2011

Re: ICX7150 Cannot Set Copper SFP to Auto Negotiate... Why not???

The limitation isn't the SFP, it is the actual port on the switch itself. The port in the switch is only capable of running at 10G or 1G, it does not have the ability to run at 100M (or 10M), if you put a 100M optical SFP in the slot it should not work. We've run into the same issue on the 7450.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎07-20-2015

Re: ICX7150 Cannot Set Copper SFP to Auto Negotiate... Why not???

I DID put a 100M capable TX SFP in the slot.  It is a 10/1000/1000 Ethernet module in a 6610.  On the new 7450's it is 1 Gigabit/sec only.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎07-12-2011

Re: ICX7150 Cannot Set Copper SFP to Auto Negotiate... Why not???

Your original post says it was in a 7150, slot 3, port 3.

That is this module

UNIT 1: SL 3: ICX7150-4X10GF 4-port 40G Module

Essentially slot 3 is a single 40 gig port that is using a 4X10G breakout.

As a result, you can run those at 1G or 10G, the underlying interface itself is simply not capable of working at 100M or 10M, it doesn't matter if the SFP itself would do it, the hardware underneath has to support it.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Click to Register
Download FREE NVMe eBook