Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
TOA
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-06-2016

ICX TO HP Aruba up link

I’m new to Brocade switch configuration settings and hoping I can get some assistance on up linking a Brocade ICX switch to an HP 2920. The Brocade is setup with just the default (VLAN 1).The uplink port on the HP is untagged for VLAN 1. The IP address on the on the Brocade is on the same network as the HP and the the Brocades IP default gateway is the IP address of the 2920. When I connect the two to their assign ports I am unable to ping either switch

 

Brocadian
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-13-2012

Re: ICX TO HP Aruba up link

Hi, Is the ICX is running L2 Image or L3 Image? Please run a "show version" to determine the image type.....

Example - FCXS07300h - represents L2 image / FCXR07300h - represents the L3 image..... based on the image, the management IP configuration differs.....

TOA
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-06-2016

Re: ICX TO HP Aruba up link

ICX7450-24 Switch>show ver
Copyright (c) 1996-2014 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc. All rights reserved.
UNIT 1: compiled on Sep 30 2014 at 02:46:45 labeled as SPS08020
(25238404 bytes) from Primary SPS08020.bin
SW: Version 08.0.20T211
Compressed Boot-Monitor Image size = 786944, Version:10.1.04T215 (spz10104)
HW: Stackable ICX7450-24
==========================================================================
UNIT 1: SL 1: ICX7450-24 24-port Management Module
P-ASIC 0: type B548, rev 01 Chip BCM56548_A0
==========================================================================
UNIT 1: SL 2: ICX7400-4X10GF 4-port 40G Module
==========================================================================
UNIT 1: SL 3: ICX7400-4X10GF 4-port 40G Module
==========================================================================
UNIT 1: SL 4: ICX7400-1X40GQ 1-port 40G Module
==========================================================================
1000 MHz ARM processor ARMv7 88 MHz bus
8192 KB boot flash memory
2048 MB code flash memory
2048 MB DRAM
STACKID 1 system uptime is 16 hours 29 minutes 19 seconds
The system : started=cold start

TOA
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-06-2016

Re: ICX TO HP Aruba up link

 This brocade will only be used for layer 2. I have a workstation VLAN that is tagged on the up link on both devices works and when i plug a laptop to an untagged port on the Brocade it gets an IP. The only time I can ping the brocade switch is when I plug the up link from the HP to the out-of-bandwidth manage port, which make since but can I get manage the device without having to utilize the managed port?

Brocadian
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-13-2012

Re: ICX TO HP Aruba up link

Hi, Please try configuring the command "management-vlan" under vlan 1. Also as a best practise, please change the management vlan to a different vlan from vlan 1.

 

ICX7450#vlan 1

ICX7450#management-vlan

 

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook