Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-14-2013

ICX 6610 stacking and VLAN tagging

I have created an ICX6610 stack with two (2) switches.  Stack looks good (show stack detail, stack mac-persistent, same priorities, etc...). Rebooting the primary fails over to the second stack member right away. When the former primary reboots and rejoins the stack, everything OK.

Question:

  As I create VLAN's on the switches, do I have to assign these VLAN's to the stacking ports as tagged to those vlan's?

Sample:

stack unit 1

  module 1 icx6610-24f-sf-port-management-module

  module 2 icx6610-qsfp-10-port-160g-module

  module 3 icx6610-8-port-10g-dual-mode-module

  priority 109

  stack-trunk 1/2/1 to 1/2/2

  stack-trunk 1/2/6 to 1/2/7

  stack-port 1/2/1 1/2/6

stack unit 2

  module 1 icx6610-24f-sf-port-management-module

  module 2 icx6610-qsfp-10-port-160g-module

  module 3 icx6610-8-port-10g-dual-mode-module

  priority 109

  stack-trunk 2/2/1 to 2/2/2

  stack-trunk 2/2/6 to 2/2/7

  stack-port 2/2/1 2/2/6

stack enable

!

global-stp

!                                                               

!

!

vlan 1 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port

spanning-tree 802-1w

spanning-tree 802-1w priority 10

!

vlan 6 name User-VLAN by port

untagged ethe 1/1/1 ethe 2/1/1

tagged ethe 1/1/2 to 1/1/24 ethe 2/1/2 to 2/1/24

router-interface ve 6

spanning-tree 802-1w

spanning-tree 802-1w priority 10

!

vlan 101 name Server-VLAN by port

tagged ethe 1/1/2 to 1/1/24 ethe 2/1/2 to 2/1/24

router-interface ve 101

spanning-tree 802-1w

spanning-tree 802-1w priority 10

Basically, do I need to add "tagged ethe 1/2/1 to 1/2/2 ethe 1/2/6 to 1/2/7 ethe 2/1/1 to 2/2/2 ethe 2/2/6 to 2/2/7" to the VLAN's to get that tagged traffic to flow over the stack ports?

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎06-15-2009

Re: ICX 6610 stacking and VLAN tagging

9146fan,

Yes its required to tag those ports as they are in two different vlans.

thanks,

Deepti

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-14-2013

Re: ICX 6610 stacking and VLAN tagging

Thanks for the reply. One final clarification, you need to tag VLAN traffic across stack ports (trunks) just as you would tag VLAN's across trunk ports between stand-alone switches?

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎06-15-2009

Re: ICX 6610 stacking and VLAN tagging

9146fan,

If traffic is flowing from say port 1/1/2  to 2/1/2, then you need to tag the ports because both ports belong to two separate VLANs. However in your scenario, you are trying to create VLANs on stacking ports in a ICX stack.  Any port that is used only for stacking cannot be configured in a VLAN; say in this case for ICX6610, the stack ports are dedicated for stacking and cannot be used as a normal data port.

hope this helps

thanks

Deepti

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-14-2013

Re: ICX 6610 stacking and VLAN tagging

Thanks for your reply, but now I am confused. In an ICX 6610 stack of two switches, no normal data flows over the stack cables at all?  That doesn't seem right.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-14-2013

Re: ICX 6610 stacking and VLAN tagging

As a followup, I thought I would phrase my question in a different way. Please note that I am not trying to configure a stacking port for normal data use (ie. connection to a server).

For a stack of two (2) ICX 6610's, do I need to added the stacking ports as "tagged" to a VLAN to get the VLAN traffic to pass between the two stacked switches? Or do stacked trunks/ports always pass all VLAN (intra and inter)?

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎06-15-2009

Re: ICX 6610 stacking and VLAN tagging

9146fan,

Thankyou for clarifying your question further. Confirmed that in case of stacking ports, they do not need to be added to a VLAN.  An internal header is created (hence selecting the port as a stacking link) and that header includes info on the VLAN the frame should be sent out on.


thanks,

Deepti

Highlighted
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-25-2016

Re: ICX 6610 stacking and VLAN tagging

I have created an ICX6610 stack with two (2) switches.  Stack looks good (show stack detail, stack mac-persistent, same priorities, etc...). Rebooting the primary fails over to the second stack member right away without any ping drop of core switch gateway and other edge switches end devices but   When the former primary reboots and rejoins the stack, after booting up and specially when it's try to participate into stacking then ping is droping more than 1.30 minutes and after it'll get stable but after few seconds when it'll come up at the same time it'll reboot backup stack switch automatically and at the same time again ping will start droping more than 2 minutes.

 

Question:

 

  I have to reduce this time within 30 seconds because it's CCTV network and i am working with brocade tech team but still we are not able to fix this issue, even i have done new firmware V8.30h and delete the complete configuration and create new stack , change the priority values (same & different) but result is the same.

 

Can anybody advise me on it?  how to solve it or it's normal behavour of brocade stacking process which is totally unacceptable in my scenario.

 

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Download FREE NVMe eBook