Ethernet Switches & Routers

Occasional Contributor

How to configure Jumbo Frame on Brocade 8000 switch?

Hi,

I'm quite new to the switch thing.

I have configured Jumbo frame on the NIC with command ifconfig eth0 mtu 9000 on the linux server side.

Now I need to know how to configure Jumbo Frame on the switch. should I also set mtu to 9000 on the switch or a larger value? can I only set mtu for every port I connect or need to change global mtu? and How to configure that.

Thanks in advance.

Thanks,

Betty

Super Contributor

Re: How to configure Jumbo Frame on Brocade 8000 switch?

Hi,

Yes you need to set the MTU to the same value on ALL lan port in the same vlan.  I do not know the Brocade 8000 FCoE switch, looking for the manual now.

Haveever most switches let you set the MTU on a global, vlan or port level.

Thanks.

Super Contributor

sorry cannot find the maual to give the exact config.

Occasional Contributor

Thank you anyway.

actually, I also dobut that if 9000 the correct mtu size to set on the switch? as last time, with DELL switch, the support people told me that I need to set it to 9216 to enable jumbo frame on the switch...

Thanks,

Betty

Super Contributor

Hi Betty,

9K is the value used most commonly for jumbo frames,  however this is express as 1024 byte * 9 = 9216 - that is where the value get a little confiussed.

Standard enternet frames are 1514 bytes, so anthing over that is a jumbo setting.  Some vendors support a maximum setting for MTU to 9216. some set it as 9000.  You need to find the setting that all devices can aggree on.

Occasional Contributor

Thank you!

I have found below commands may refer to, but still  have a question:

############

HBA_8000_19(config)#int te 0/0