Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-27-2011

Connecting FCXS to VDX

I'm looking for config examples to connect an FCX stackable switch with a VDX switch.  Physically they are connected using 10 fiber between FCX 1/3/1 interface and VDX 1/0/24 interface.

My understaning of vlan trunking on the FCX switch is accomplish simple by adding an interface to the vlan as such:

config t

vlan 1000

tagged ethernet 1/3/1

On the VDX:

config t

interface tengigabitethernet 1/0/24

fabric isl enable
fabric trunk enable

switchport
switchport mode trunk
switchport trunk allowed vlan all

no shutdown

A node on the FCX switch in vlan 1000 is unable to ping a node on the VDX switch also on vlan 1000.

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Connecting FCXS to VDX

Hi,

     This looks about right to me but please remove the 'fabric isl enable' from the VDX as that is used to connect ISL between VDX units only.

I assume you are running the VDX in VCS mode? and that no spaning tree is enabled?

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-27-2011

Re: Connecting FCXS to VDX

You are correct, VCX switch is in VCS mode and no spanning tress enabled.

Still no sucess pinging across switches FCX-VDX. I'm sure it is something simple I'm missing. I may have to open up a support case.

Thank you for your input.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-10-2012

Re: Connecting FCXS to VDX

Is vlan 1000 the only vlan you have configured on this interface?

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Connecting FCXS to VDX

Hi,

     The only other think I can think of is to remove the 'fabric trunk enable' by 'no fabric trunk enable'.

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-27-2011

Re: Connecting FCXS to VDX

Well, I was stumped too and decided to troubleshoot it from the lowest level. It was determined to be a bad SFP module. So it was replaced and the fiber patch cable also.

So it was a hardware issue and not a configuration one.

I appreciate the time and effort to assist.

Ben

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook