Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
rh1
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-30-2011

Adding one GE port to ALL vlans in the switch

Hi

Is any way to add single GE port to all VLANs withing the switch ? (let's say all tagged).

Multi-vlan configuration is not way due if I set vlan 1 to 1000 then It will create non-existing vlans within the range.

Rob

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Adding one GE port to ALL vlans in the switch

Hi,

     Yes but not quickly.

     E.G,

          valn 2

          tag ether 1

          vlan 5

          tag ether 1

          valn 6

          tag ether 1

          vlan 100

          tag ether 1

so you would need to add the line under each VLAN to ave created.

Thanks

Michael.

rh1
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-30-2011

Re: Adding one GE port to ALL vlans in the switch

Heh. It's a pity that 7.3 release is still lacking of this feature If you have like us around 500 VLANs then it's hell to do this by hand.

I'm curious if the will implement something like this :

vlan all except 2,5,10

  tagged ethe 1

or

vlan all

  tagged ethe 1

So best way IMHO:

upload config to tftp

grep + awk / perl to create command sequences

download additional config from tftp (to add selected ports to all vlans)

BR

Rob

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Adding one GE port to ALL vlans in the switch

Yes grep etc give the best results for my mind when have large number of vlans.

However there is also vlan groups that can help in this area.

Configuring a VLAN group

To configure a VLAN group, enter commands such as the following.

Brocade(config)# vlan-group 1 vlan 2 to 257

Brocade(config-vlan-group-1)# tagged 1/1 to ½

The first command in this example begins configuration for VLAN group 1, and assigns VLANs 2 through 257 to the group. The second command adds ports 1/1 and 1/2 as tagged ports. Because all the VLANs in the group share the ports, you must add the ports as tagged ports.

Syntax: vlan-group <num> vlan <vlan-id> to <vlan-id>

Syntax: tagged ethernet <portnum> <portnum> | ethernet

<portnum>]

The vlan-group <num> parameter specifies the VLAN group ID and can be from 1 – 32. The vlan <vlan-id> to <vlan-id> parameters specify a contiguous range (a range with no gaps) of individual VLAN IDs. Specify the low VLAN ID first and the high VLAN ID second. The command adds all of the

specified VLANs to the VLAN group.

You can add up to 256 VLANs with the command at one time. To add more than 256 VLANs, enter separate commands. For example, to configure VLAN group 1 and add 512 VLANs to the group, enter the following commands.

Brocade(config)# vlan group 1 vlan 2 to 257

Brocade(config-vlan-group-1)# add vlan 258 to 513

rh1
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-30-2011

Re: Adding one GE port to ALL vlans in the switch

vlan-groups are useless as all VLANs within vlan group have to have same configuration which is not present usually where you have a lot of VLANs - eg you need to have tagged VLAN to uplinks and also to access-switch, but not all VLANs to access-switch.

Usually pretty useless in more compilcated networks

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Adding one GE port to ALL vlans in the switch

yep and that why I gave the manual config, as this is what needs to be done must times

and back to grep for this one.

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Adding one GE port to ALL vlans in the switch

also Ironview or BNA can help in this area if deploying to multi switches but you still need to have like configs - I have used the CLI deploy feature here for that when doing this on heaps of switches at once (pre production though).

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎07-26-2010

Re: Adding one GE port to ALL vlans in the switch

Hi.

There is a high probability that BNA should soon get more improvements on the VLAN manager using user defined port-groups for VLAN configurations.

I have heard things abut this. ;-)

Cheers

Karl

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook