Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-02-2015

16GB optic (server) with a 10GB optic (switch) compatibility?

We have an open, 10GB/s ready SFP port on an ICX6610 48p brocade switch (we've bought and configured the license already).

 

We just had a server delivered that has a 10G capable card in it. It came with a 16GB/s optic. Will that auto negotiate speed with the brocade and run at 10GB/s successfully? Or do I need to look at ordering a dedicated 10GB/s optic? 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,974
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 16GB optic (server) with a 10GB optic (switch) compatibility?

@bellis1

 

can you please post exact details - Vendor and Model - about the HBA and SFP ?

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-02-2015

Re: 16GB optic (server) with a 10GB optic (switch) compatibility?

The 10GB/s optic is a Redwave 10G-SFPP-LR-RW and will be used in a Brocade ICX6610-48P switch with a 10GB/s license configured.

 

The 16GB/s optic is an Avago AFBR-57F5MZ-ELX and will be plugged into a Dell powervault MD3800f.

 

Hope this helps!

External Moderator
Posts: 4,974
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 16GB optic (server) with a 10GB optic (switch) compatibility?

you wrote:

 

----> We just had a server delivered that has a 10G capable card in it.

 

are you sure the Card = HBA is bot 10 Gb eth and 16 Gb FC capable ?

 

the Avago is native FC SFP+ and work only as 4/8/16 Gb into a FC environments

 

about the Redwave SFP, such SFP are not supported by Brocade but is probable that work, I've never use Thirds Part's SFP

 

 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-02-2015

Re: 16GB optic (server) with a 10GB optic (switch) compatibility?

The spec sheet for the server simply says "16GB Fibre Channel". Is that not backwards compatible to 10GB/s speeds?

The redwave optics in Brocade are a non-issue. We have plenty of those optics in multiple switches across our environment with no issue.

We just need something compatible on the server side.
External Moderator
Posts: 4,974
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 16GB optic (server) with a 10GB optic (switch) compatibility?

--->>>The spec sheet for the server simply says "16GB Fibre Channel"

 

some HBA - i.e. Emulex now Broadcom - provide both 10G Eth and 4/8/16 Gb FC, you need just simple to replace the SFP

 

for this reason I ask for exact HBA Vendor and Model

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-02-2015

Re: 16GB optic (server) with a 10GB optic (switch) compatibility?

Thank you for the information. I will try to get the name of the HBA tomorrow. 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎07-02-2015

Re: 16GB optic (server) with a 10GB optic (switch) compatibility?

" Emulex LPe16000B, Single Port 16GB Fibre Channel HBA6000FH [406-BBDW] 1516 "
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎07-12-2011

Re: 16GB optic (server) with a 10GB optic (switch) compatibility?

The Dell Powervault MD3800f is a Fibre Channel only array, the ports on it will only operate with 4, 8 or 16 Gig speeds connected to a Fiber Channel switch, the ICX6610 is an IP switch and cannot communicate with your array.

 

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.