Ethernet Fabric (VDX, CNA)

New Contributor

vcs cluster doesn't form

We have 2 VDX 6720-24 switches running NOS 3.0.1b.  Set up 1 switch as rbridge-id 10, another as 11 and set vcsid at 11.  The 2 switches are connected via 2 10gbe ports.  When I type "show fabric isl" and "show fabric islports" it shows the ISL ports as up.  But, when I type "show vcs" or "show vcs detail" both switches say Total NUmber of Nodes:  1.  The primary switch, rbridge-id 10, every so often will say "Cluster formatin is in progress..." when I type "show vcs".  I've been able to set a vcs virtual ip and login to the main switch with that, but it still never adds the 2nd switch to the cluster.  I am new to this, but I've read and re-read the admin guide and tried some things I found in this forum and even tried starting over from the default config.  I did read somewhere that it looks for the vcs enable somewhere, can't remember where it said it looks for that, but it does not show vcs enable anywhere in either of the running-configs.  The only vcs item I can find in the running-config is the virtual ip on the primary switch.  Do I need to manually add this to the running-config?  Anyway, anyone know what I may be missing?

Thanks.

Brocadian

Re: vcs cluster doesn't form

hi;

i think you might be missing the vcs enable command.....

the switches will auto form the fabric once this command is issues, and both switches have same VCS id...

Configuring a Brocade VCS Fabric

Refer to the following tables for commands and examples used in configuring a Brocade VCS Fabric.

For command details, refer to the Network OS Command Reference.

The following lists command examples for enabling Brocade VCS logical chassis cluster mode:

TABLE 14 Command examples for enabling logical chassis cluster mode

Command Command Behavior

switch# vcs logical-chassis enable The VCS ID becomes the default

value of 1, the RBridge ID is not

changed, and Brocade VCS

logical chassis cluster mode is

enabled.