Ethernet Fabric (VDX, CNA)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-11-2014
Accepted Solution

VCS with more than two nodes via 40 GbE ISL - additional license required on VDX6740, NOS 5.0.1 ???

hi all,

 

i'm trying to form a VCS (logical-chassis) with 3 nodes over 40 GbE ISL. Two nodes work just fine, but when I connect a third node via 40 GbE (Brocade QSFP-QSFP directly attached) cable, the interface appears as "admin down" on show interface status:

 

Fo 1/0/49    connected     ISL        40G      40G QSFP                          
Fo 1/0/50    adminDown     --         --       --

 

Taking the interface up manually is no use as it just goes back down in a second:

 

bro0(conf)# interface Fo 1/0/50
bro0(conf-if-fo-1/0/50)# no shutdown

2014/11/20-08:28:24, [NSM-1019], 2256, SW/0 | Active | DCE, INFO, bro0,  Interface FortyGigabitEthernet 1/0/50 is administratively up.

bro0(conf-if-fo-1/0/50)# 2014/11/20-08:28:25, [NSM-1020], 2257, SW/0 | Active | 
DCE, INFO, bro0,  Interface FortyGigabitEthernet 1/0/50 is administratively down.

 

Could this be a licensing problem? NOS Release Notes < 5.0.0 say:

 

"In Brocade Network OS v4.0.0 (v2.1.0 or later), VCS mode is no longer dependent on a full POD license being installed on the switch."  and

 

"The VCS license is enforced in Brocade Network OS v4.0.0 and is required on each VDX switch when three or more VDX switches are connected in a VCS fabric. A maximum of two switches may connect and form a VCS fabric without a VCS license."

 

However, I can't seem to find any of these restrictions (and non-restrictions) in NOS Release Notes >= 5.0.0, especially not concerning VCS via 40 GbE ISL.

 

Using Brocade's 10GbE-ISL-Cables everything works fine: VCS logical-chassis with 3 nodes forming as expected.

 

We have installed a 40G Port Upgrade License to activate all - not just 2/4 - 40G ports:

 

bro0# show license

rbridge-id: 1
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
       40G Port Upgrade license
       Feature name:PORT_40G_UPGRADE
       License is valid
       Capacity: 2

 

Do I miss something here? Thanks for your help!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-11-2014

Re: VCS with more than two nodes via 40 GbE ISL - additional license required on VDX6740, NOS 5.0.1 ???

FYI

 

We installed a second 40G Ports Upgrade License on all three nodes and now the cluster (logical chassis) forms as expected.

 

However, this makes no sense to me, as we used no other ports than Fo49 and Fo50 as ISL and I don't think one 40G License would activate e.g. Fo49 and Fo51.. so.. a three-node VCS should have already formed with just one 40G License installed.

 

Am I wrong here?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-11-2014

Re: VCS with more than two nodes via 40 GbE ISL - additional license required on VDX6740, NOS 5.0.1 ???

yeah, one license activates 49/51 // 50/52 :-)

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook