Ethernet Fabric (VDX, CNA)

Occasional Contributor

How do I set up a layer 2 6720 switch for simple render farm%3F%0D%0A

We have a 3d rendering business where the amount of files and transfer of said files is becoming a bandwidth issue.

That being said, we decided to dip our toes into fiber channel for video and file transfer in the render farm.

I want to point out up front that I am completely new to this arena, so I apologize up front for what is sure to be a post full of nonsense.

Here is what I am used to... Configure my IP addresses.. (subnet, gateway, etc) plug in a cable and Viola! access to the network.

I was expecting something like this using fiber... (insert joke here) since we did not know if it would be a huge gain or not, we bought a few test pieces. (some 10gb hp NICs and an 8gb hp fiber switch (AM866-B I think).  I was hoping the NICs would be backwards compatible the way copper NICs usually are, but all I ever got from the web interface was orange blinking lights and no connectivity.

My troublshooting process went like this... Maybe the transceivers were not compatible, or maybe mixing 8gb and 10gb was the problem. So I bought a few more of each. I plugged in the second set of 8gb cards and was quickly getting all the connections working in the web interface. So I go to the network admin area and no NIC... I go to device manager and I see the new cards are showing as storage controllers and not NICs. ohhhh boy... so I go through a week of testing troubleshooting and finally getting an iscsi VHD working with targets and initiators... success!  But...