Ethernet Fabric (VDX, CNA)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-24-2010

CNA and Teaming Mode Connection Issue

Trying to setup a FCOE environment

Hardware: Brocade-1020 CNA

Port 0 ->  Brocade 8000 "sw12" Port 8

Port 1 ->  Brocade 8000 "sw13" Port 8

Goal is to create NSPOF

Initial setup was basic IP bound to port 0 and ping to a standard 10Gb Chelsio attached HBA. This works fine.

In reading the Brocade Adapter Administration Guide, it would seem that if my goal is to get FCOE out of these adapters, and I want HA I have to do the following

1) Team mode can not be 802.3ad, only failover or failback modes

2) As each port is going to a seperate switch, no aggregation is gained, but HA works

3) I can create virtual ports, each on seperate VLANs with the switch allocations by QOS.

My issue is that whenever I build a NIC team. No matter what mode.  Even when the switch has no FCOE on VLAN set as PVID, the host drops communication:

Switch Configuration

## sw12

!
interface Vlan 19
description 019ATLIBMStoragphys

!
interface TenGigabitEthernet 0/8
description x365001 CNA_1
switchport
switchport mode access
switchport access vlan 19
no shutdown
!

## sw13

!
interface Vlan 19
description 019ATLIBMStoragphys
!

!
interface TenGigabitEthernet 0/8
description x365001 CNA_2
switchport
switchport mode access
switchport access vlan 19
shutdown
!

As you see I even "shut" the port on sw13 to force communication to the single 10Gb Chelsio attached host configured as noted below

Test Host

## sw12

!
interface TenGigabitEthernet 0/4
description x3061m1
switchport
switchport mode access
switchport access vlan 19
no shutdown
!

Any thoughts on why basic NIC teaming is not working?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-02-2009

Re: CNA and Teaming Mode Connection Issue

Hi arrowsivac,

Can you please tell me the driver version of the 1020 you are using?

thanks,

Nde

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-24-2010

Re: CNA and Teaming Mode Connection Issue

Host Connectivity Manger:

Version: 2.3.0.0
Build ID: 20101006_1717
Build Date: 2010-10-06 17:17:28

HCA:

Driver Name: bfa

Driver Version: 2.3.0.0

Firmware Version 2.3.0.0

Chip Revision: Rev-C

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-24-2010

Re: CNA and Teaming Mode Connection Issue

<Update>

Saw after the post that their was a 2.3.0.2 version. Notes in the readme did not not  any change related to my issue, but I upgraded anyway.

Side Commentary:

Over riding the username and password to log into HCM  and having to reset that is a bit annoying.  Why does it need to wipe that out for a product update? And fields which you can't paste a password in makes for fat finger errors and is a bit annoying.

New Version:

2.3.0.2

What is fun now is once I did the update, I went in to add a team and (as you can see in the screen shots attached) now I can not add a team at all.

What is the way to get to a shell / CLI interface to take a look at what is going on here?  This smells of "burnt Java" GUI issues.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-02-2009

Re: CNA and Teaming Mode Connection Issue

OK.  I just wnated to make sure you had a driver version that supported NIC teaming...

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-24-2010

Re: CNA and Teaming Mode Connection Issue

Restarted HCM Widows Service and no change on "ghost" Team. Windows does show a 10Gb Brocade NIC team, but HCM does not.

Just did a reboot to see if that "fixed" the issue, no change.

I did figure out where the CLI utility "bcu" is.  The GUI installer puts it as an icon on the desktop, but not in the startup menue. Long story short with Windows roaming profiles....  desktop icon was deleted.  I caught it this time and moved it to the menu (someone should fix that).  Now I can launch the CLI interface.   Another feature on that is it requires to be run as "Administrator" but if you right click and "run as" it drops you into the wrong shell context.

Poking at the bcu utitlity to see if I can root caues the NIC teaming issue....

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-02-2009

Re: CNA and Teaming Mode Connection Issue

use the BCU command shell... BCU = Brocade Command Line Utility

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎09-02-2009

Re: CNA and Teaming Mode Connection Issue

BTW... did you open a support ticket with tech support?

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-24-2010

Re: CNA and Teaming Mode Connection Issue

Seems even the BCU utility believes their are no teams.

c:\Program Files (x86)\Brocade\Adapter\driver\util>bcu team --list
Failed to get team info
Error: Bad file descriptor

As for opening a ticket.. .ya.. right... this is a lab... we have zero contracts.. my "support" (outside the forums) is RTFM.

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎05-24-2010

Re: CNA and Teaming Mode Connection Issue

If you disable and reenable the NIC, and look at microsoft / NIC description to see the interface logical name you can use that to deduce the team and and get a query.

Team Query
c:\Program Files (x86)\Brocade\Adapter\driver\util>bcu team --query team1
Team Name:      team1
Team mode:      Fail Over
MAC Address:    00:05:1e:df:30:fa
Num of VLANS:   1
Num of ports:   2
Member info:
        1/1 : Local Area Connection 4
        1/0 : Local Area Connection 3  (Primary)
Team Statistics:
        Tx Packets:             0
        Rx Packets:             0
        Tx Error Packets:       14
        Rx Error Packets:       0
        Duration:               00:00:08
        Status:                 Connected

c:\Program Files (x86)\Brocade\Adapter\driver\util>bcu team --list
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Team Name                        Team mode        MAC address
------------------------------------------------------------------------
team1                            Fail Over        00:05:1e:df:30:fa
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remove and rebuild NIC team...  reset IP address to new team.... No change with 2.3.0.2.  Still no ability to get interface to go live.

Team Configuration Not able to ping NIC same swith
c:\Program Files (x86)\Brocade\Adapter\driver\util>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 5:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.19.5
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet adapter 172.20.11.161:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f40b:d51b:c3d0:f81d%15
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.11.161
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.11.1

Tunnel adapter isatap.{297C4E33-5A7B-44F0-B4FE-46DFC87F0B40}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter isatap.{3F303E33-DE89-4807-BA52-02249B00B1D9}:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

c:\Program Files (x86)\Brocade\Adapter\driver\util>ping 172.20.19.5

Pinging 172.20.19.5 with 32 bytes of data&colon;
Reply from 172.20.19.5: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 172.20.19.5:
    Packets: Sent = 1, Received = 1, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
Control-C
^C
c:\Program Files (x86)\Brocade\Adapter\driver\util>ping 172.20.19.4

Pinging 172.20.19.4 with 32 bytes of data&colon;
Control-C
^C
c:\Program Files (x86)\Brocade\Adapter\driver\util>arp -a

Interface: 172.20.11.161 --- 0xf
  Internet Address      Physical Address      Type
  172.20.11.1           00-13-5f-31-53-00     dynamic
  172.20.11.255         ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff     static
  224.0.0.22            01-00-5e-00-00-16     static
  224.0.0.252           01-00-5e-00-00-fc     static

Interface: 172.20.19.5 --- 0x14
  Internet Address      Physical Address      Type
  172.20.19.255         ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff     static
  224.0.0.22            01-00-5e-00-00-16     static
  224.0.0.252           01-00-5e-00-00-fc     static
  255.255.255.255       ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff     static

c:\Program Files (x86)\Brocade\Adapter\driver\util>

Remove team. Bind IP address to the single interface and it works fine.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Click to Register
Download FREE NVMe eBook