Ethernet Fabric (VDX, CNA)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-15-2014

Brocade 1020 jumbo frames on solaris 11.

[ Edited ]

There wasn't good information on the administration quide about configuring mtu on solaris 11, just solaris 10.

Which goes:

Spoiler

1.   Add the following line to the bna.conf file. This file is located in /kernel/drv/bna.conf.
bfa<x>_port-mtu=<mtu_value>

where:
x                   BNA (Brocade Network Adapter) driver instance number
mtu_value          1500 to 9000
2.   Reload the driver.
3.  Enter the following command:
ifconfig bna<instance number> mtu <MTU size set in Step 1>

So I tried bfa0_port-mtu=9000, reloaded the driver and recreated the if in ipadm, yet ipadm show-ifprop -p mtu net6 showed the possibe being 68-1500.

 

dladm show-phys -L
LINK              DEVICE       LOC
net0              igb0         PCIE5
net1              igb1         PCIE5
net6              bna0         PCIE3 <- brocade 1020 nic in use
net7              bna1         PCIE3
net2              e1000g0      PCIE1
net3              e1000g1      PCIE1

External Moderator
Posts: 4,974
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 1020 jumbo frames on solaris 11.

AFAIK, Brocade 10x0 CNA's are current not supported on Solaris 11

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-15-2014

Re: Brocade 1020 jumbo frames on solaris 11.

They are. Currently using one, but you cannot chance the mtu.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,974
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 1020 jumbo frames on solaris 11.

s0lid,

 

you are right, I check again in some DOC and found additional this Info.

 

here is descripted how to can be set mtu size.

 

Enabling jumbo frames for Solaris
For Solaris 10 and 11, you can enable support for jumbo packet frames and set the MTU size for
these frames up to 9014. Use the following steps:
1. Add the following line to the bna.conf file. This file is located in /kernel/drv/bna.conf.
bna<x>-port-mtu=mtu_size
where:
x BNA (Brocade Network Adapter) driver instance number
mtu_size 1500-9000
NOTE
Size must not be greater than size set on the switch that supports Data Center Bridging (DCB).
2. Reload the driver.
3. Enter the following command based on your operating system:
• Solaris 10:
ifconfig bna<instance number> mtu <MTU size set in Step 1>
• Enter the following command for Solaris 11:
dladm set-linkprop -p mtu=<MTU size set in Step 1> bna<instance number>

TechHelp24
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-27-2014

Re: Brocade 1020 jumbo frames on solaris 11.

[ Edited ]

Back to the topic now that I've machine that I can test this on..

 

Doesn't work.

If I add the following lines to /kernel/drv/bna.conf.

bna0-port-mtu=9000
bna1-port-mtu=9000

 

Nothing useful happens, just errors such as: "WARNING: Unexpected EOF on line 3 of /kernel/drv/bna.conf"

 

EDIT: FINALLY GOT IT WORKING. The fix was: SEMICOLONS AT THE END OF THE LINES.

So the bna.conf now looks like this:

bna0-port-mtu=9000;
bna1-port-mtu=9000;

Now ipadm show-ifprop -p mtu gives proper output:

IFNAME      PROPERTY        PROTO PERM CURRENT    PERSISTENT DEFAULT    POSSIBLE
net5 mtu ipv4 rw 9000 -- 9000 68-9000 net5 mtu ipv6 rw 9000 -- 9000 1280-9000 net6 mtu ipv4 rw 9000 -- 9000 68-9000 net6 mtu ipv6 rw 9000 -- 9000 1280-9000

 net5 is bna0 and net6 is bna1.

 

dladm set-linkprop -p mtu=9000 net6
ifconfig net6
net6: flags=1004843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST,DHCP,IPv4> mtu 9000 index 6
        inet 0.0.0.0 netmask ff000000
        ether 0:5:33:90:a7:b

 

Have a good day and go fix your **bleep** manuals.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.