Application Delivery (ADX)

New Contributor

Why is the default on the adx "fast-bringup ? I cant understand in what situation it would be useful

I am a new load balancer admin. I experieanced the issue where the load balancer keeps marking a vip up and then down because I have a layer 7 health check that failed. After much googling I found the "no-fast-bringup" server command and after implementing it this fixed my problem.

My question is what  situation would you not want "no-fast-bringup"  to be implemented? Can someone point me in the documentation a techinical explanation of "no-fast-bringup" option?

Occasional Contributor

Re: Why is the default on the adx "fast-bringup ? I cant understand in what situation it would be useful

Hey mwcotton,

This is from a Brocade document. As I interpret this is that Brocade ADX started out at as a Layer 3-4 load balancer and thus as long as the layer 4 check is up it defaults to mark it up. They then got into Layer 7 load balancing and implemented the "no fast-bringup" to ensure it passes all layers before marking the server as "up". Hope this helped!

http://community.brocade.com/t5/Application-Delivery-ADX/Health-Checking-101/ta-p/3103

There are other Layer 7 health checks available as well - please have a look at the documentation to get some more details about them. I would like to proceed with some more complex things here.

Avery common problem as soon as people move to layer 7 health checks are flapping real server ports - real server ports are getting declared as up and down and up and down and so on. This is going to look like the following in the log files:

SYSLOG: Mar  3 22:20:36:<13>L4 server 192.168.9.50 r50 port 80 is up
SYSLOG: Mar  3 22:20:50:<13>L4 server 192.168.9.50 r50 port 80 is down due to healthcheck
SYSLOG: Mar  3 22:20:56:<13>L4 server 192.168.9.50 r50 port 80 is up
SYSLOG: Mar  3 22:21:10:<13>L4 server 192.168.9.50 r50 port 80 is down due to healthcheck