Application Delivery (ADX)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-20-2010

How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

I check configuration guide of all about ADX-1000 , but i'm not find any configuration about mgmt port.
Have any one can help me to set mgmt port?

External Moderator
Posts: 5,030
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

in order to managed ADX switches, you need first to activated the

Management Port, assign IP address  ( log-in from console Port ) and then connect the management port to the other end to the network.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-20-2010

Re: How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

hi techhelp

Have any configuration example with me to set up it?

External Moderator
Posts: 5,030
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

nothing of example is available, the config is very simple

are you connect to the switch trough the Console ?

I don't have any ADX here, I've worked just one time with ADX for a couple of minute....

when Brocade Spend me One , I'll be able to help more User with this equipment

follow this step....

in a prompt, you need to change in the config mode.... see whit help or ? which command's are available.

select the interface management e.g. 1, you are now in config-if-mgmt-1,....

now you can set the IP-Address with the command ( i believe ????) "ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0"

for test purpose you can use a crossover cable, between you PC and the management port

Note, the IP Adress is just as example, you can use any prefered IP

TechHelp24
Brocadian
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎03-14-2009

Re: How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

You have to use software version 12.1. AFAIK latest release is the 12.1c.

Here is an example

interface management 1
ip address 1.2.3.4 255.255.255.0

There is only one management port; numbered with "one"

External Moderator
Posts: 5,030
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

Alexander Illmer,

Thanks..... for your comment...

Apr 15, 2010 12:18 AM in response to: TechHelp24 Re: How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

....but I don't see any kind of difference in you Post

interface management 1
ip address 1.2.3.4 255.255.255.0

excepted:

---->>> You have to use software version 12.1. AFAIK latest release is the 12.1c.

can you please explain what is meaning ?

TechHelp24
Brocadian
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎03-14-2009

Re: How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

ADX was introduced with v12.0.

The Management Port feature was added with the ADX 12.1 release.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,030
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

bscs asked "How to set mgmt port at ADX-1000"

I assume here he have the correct FW loaded.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-20-2010

Re: How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

Thanks everyone's assistance
My ADX firmware is 12.0, I will try to used techhelp24 and Alexander methods.
thank you again

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: How to set Mgmt port at ADX-1000

For completeness.

Configuring the management port

You can configure the ServerIron ADX management port for the following:

To enable or disable the port

An IP address

An IP Route pointing over the managment port (this is available with switch code only)



Enabling and disabling the management port

The interface port is enabled by default. It can be disabled using the disable command under the

management interface configureation mode. Once disabled, it can be enabled using the enable

command. The following example disables a managment port on a ServerIron ADX.

ServerIronADX# configure terminal

ServerIronADX(config)# interface management 1

ServerIronADX(config-if-mgmt-1)# enable

Syntax: interface management 1

Syntax: enable | disable

Configuring an IP address on a management port

The managment port can be configured with a distinct IP address that is different than an other IP address configured on the ServerIron ADX. This is true whether you are running switch or router code.

You can configure an IP address for the management port as shown in the following.

ServerIronADX# configure terminal

ServerIronADX(config)# interface management 1

ServerIronADX(config-if-mgmt-1)# ip address 10.10.10.1 255.255.255.0

Syntax: ip address <IPaddress> <IPmask>

The <IPaddress> and <IPmask> variables specify the IP address that you want to assign to the

managment port.

NOTE

The IP subnet configured on the management port should be a distinct IP subnet and should not overlap with the IP subnet configured on the global management IP on switch code or the IP subnet configured on the physical/virtual interfaces on router code. In addition, there should not be an IP

subnet overlap between the management port and the IPs configured for any of the following: SLB/IP NAT/FWLB related features: source-ip, source-standby-ip, source-nat-ip, static NAT IP, dynamic NAT IP, virtual server ip, real server ip and virtual-ip (configured under server fw-group for FWLB).

Also, the management port’s IP address cannot be the same as the OS IP address that is configured in monitor mode using the remove addr command. The subnet can overlap in this situation.

Displaying management port information

You can obtain information about the management port using the following commands:

show ip mgmt-route

show ip route

show interfaces brief

show interfaces management 1

show statistics management 1













Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook