vADC Forum

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

MRTG Configuration help

Hey guys, I’m trying to get MRTG up and running to monitor my Stingray’s.

I thought I would start with monitoring the CPU and memory usage but thus far I can’t even get the CPU monitoring to work.

Here is my cfg file for CPU monitoring, as far as know its correct. (community string and host IP have been redacted)


workDir: c:\www\mrtg
LoadMIBS: c:\mrtg-2.17.4\mibs\stingraymibs.txt

RunAsDaemon: yes
Refresh: 300
Interval: 5

Target[hrProcessor.768]:1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2.768&1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2.768:blahblah@10.X.X.X
RouterUptime[hrProcessor.768]: blahblah@10.X.X.X
MaxBytes[hrProcessor.768]: 100
Title[hrProcessor.768]: CPU Load
PageTop[hrProcessor.768]: Active CPU Load %
Unscaled[hrProcessor.768]: ymwd
ShortLegend[hrProcessor.768]: %
YLegend[hrProcessor.768]: CPU Utilization
Legend1[hrProcessor.768]: Active CPU in % (Load)
Legend2[hrProcessor.768]:
Legend3[hrProcessor.768]:
Legend4[hrProcessor.768]:
LegendI[hrProcessor.768]: Active
LegendO[hrProcessor.768]:
Options[hrProcessor.768]: growright,nopercent


In short MRTG runs without error, it renders the webpage but does not populate the graphs.

capture_25732.jpg

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: MRTG Configuration help

If you walk that OID with an SNMP browser, do you get sane values?

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: MRTG Configuration help

Sorry I do not understand what the sane value is

Walk results

value_25802.jpg

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: MRTG Configuration help

Sorry, I meant GET. Do a GET on that OID.

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: MRTG Configuration help

As requested

 

.1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2.768

Name/OID: hrProcessorLoad.768; Value (Integer): 7

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: MRTG Configuration help

Ok so you're getting sane values out which is good. As I recall, you can open the MRTG file (hrProcessor.768?) which stores the raw values, are those values being stored?

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: MRTG Configuration help

It does seem to be receiving data (see attached)

 

I attached the log as it contians the same data as the OID file.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: MRTG Configuration help

Hmm.. that file shows that MRTG appears not to be logging any valid data. It's been some years since I last used it but I recall running into something similar myself. An SNMP get would return valid data but MRTG would not store it. Unfortunately I don't recall the solution but I believe it is MRTG config that needs tweaking.

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: MRTG Configuration help

Cheers for the follow up Smiley Very Happy I wanted to make sure it wasn't the Stingray not playing ball.

Off to the MRTG forums I go...............

 

Cheers

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.