Wingspan

The Future's So Bright - I Gotta Lose Weight

by Ian.Whiting on ‎08-24-2009 09:00 AM (537 Views)

It’s All about Social Media, Dude!

Get with the program, Ian…

I recently had the distinct pleasure of watching and critiquing presentations from the “Brocade Class of 2009” University Hires. This was the culmination of the University Development Program on-boarding process.

Wow! What a bunch of bright recruits!

One of the topics the team chose for their “passing out parade” presentation was the use of Social Media (blogging, YouTube, Twitter, etc.) as a way for Brocade to increase brand awareness, have a louder voice on industry topics, and generally get our name out there. Boy, did I learn a few things.

I’m relatively new to this blogging game and have to admit that I had to be cajoled into contributing something (hopefully of mild interest to some of you) as part of our company’s effort in this area. As you can see from the date of my last blog posting, I’m not exactly a prolific blogger.

But not for much longer! I have seen the light! When I saw some of the statistics that our University Hires presented and the potential to reach such huge groups of people, I realized what a great medium this is for getting your message across. So here is my first contribution as an enlightened blogger, not one that has been strong-armed into action!

Sales Integration
We just completed the first full quarter as a fully integrated sales organization since our acquisition of Foundry. On May 1st we combined the sales teams of former Foundry and Brocade and created a single integrated sales organization that presents one face to the customer.

This has been a huge effort on everyone’s part. The sales teams have undergone mandatory training (SAN teams learning more about IP networking and LAN teams learning all about Fibre Channel). Many companies have attempted to do this in the past and failed due a lack of planning, investments in training, tools, and sales support.