SAN Health Utility

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-22-2010

How do i see the Redundancy / Failover of the HBA`s connected

Good day

I need to see  Redundancy / Failover of the HBA`s connected to the SAN.

I am new to Storage and have run the SAN Health audit V3.2

Can someone plz tell me "How to" interpret the report to specifically see If the various HBA`s connected have redundancy.

Rgds

Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: How do i see the Redundancy / Failover of the HBA`s connected

If you look at the SAN health spreadsheet, you will find sheets specific to zoning in the different fabrics. Look for aliases that represent the host and manually verify if the hosts are connected redundantly. For example one of our servers 6162 has 2 HBA's

s6162h2

10:00:00:00:c9:57:14:81

s6162h110:00:00:00:c9:57:14:79

But this really depends on whether your colleagues have followed naming conventions during creation of aliases.

Also look at the VISIO diagram that you might have got, you can verify visually if your host has two connections, this is simple and faster.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-22-2010

Re: How do i see the Redundancy / Failover of the HBA`s connected

Hi

Thank you for your reply,

here is an example i pulled :

ISIS_ZONE150:06:0e:80:03:f8:de:0020:00:00:00:c9:37:d4:f9

Does the above imply dual redundancy?

Rgds

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: How do i see the Redundancy / Failover of the HBA`s connected

this shows ur Storage is zoned with HBA-example in Fab-1, this is difficult to find unless u find the WWNs of the HBAs, if ur colleagues have given HBA names liek SERVERNAME_HBA1, it should be like this  , then it will be easy otherwise WWNs are only identification. in visio u can find it.

Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: How do i see the Redundancy / Failover of the HBA`s connected

jassat_a if you dont mind posting your SAN health report maybe I can give you a clue. Else look at the VISIO diagram and judge.

Remove spaces from the filename, else I wont be able to download it. There is a problem with the forum software.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-22-2010

Re: How do i see the Redundancy / Failover of the HBA`s connected

Hi

I have attached the san health, plz let me know.

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: How do i see the Redundancy / Failover of the HBA`s connected

Jassat,

i've looking the report..... and just a stupid Tipp....

Make sure MPIO is correct configured and enable for DUAL Port HBA.

This can be the reason Redundancy / Failover is not reported in SAN Health.

If you are satisfied with the responses please mark as 'Answered'.
If not, just let me know I can see to get more info.
I would appreciated if you rate the threads.

Thank you

Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: How do i see the Redundancy / Failover of the HBA`s connected

Hi jassat_a

Well most of your servers are dual connected and as ABBA mentioned they have more than 2 HBA ports.

Look at sheet Z_SHODENPROD1-6069806cac

MTNA20_FC110:00:00:00:c9:36:24:bd

then scroll down and ensure that its zoned with the storage

MTNA20_ZONE150:06:0e:80:03:f9:0a:0010:00:00:00:c9:36:24:bd

On the other fabric Z_SHODENPROD2-6069806cad, you will find the other entry

MTNA20_FC210:00:00:00:c9:36:25:d2

But on closer inspection you will find that although the alias exists the WWPN is not physically logged in. It might be possible that you guys replaced the HBA with a different one or maybe its faulty. Observe the color of both the alias and the zone they both are aqua.

MTNA20_ZONE250:06:0e:80:03:f9:0a:0710:00:00:00:c9:36:25:d2

Now example of a single connected server would be your NIM server

NIM_FC210:00:00:00:c9:42:9e:cf

It does not have another leg in PROD2 fabric.

Since you are HDS shop, you might have HDLM installed for multipathing. You can type in

dlnkmgr view -path

on the hosts and find out whether they are dual path on single, easier and better. And one step further you can buy HGLAM or check if its already in your contract and monitor all host paths from a single console.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.