Management Software

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-02-2010

Problems Accessing Fabric Manager - HELP!

Hi All,

I have recently landed a job on a customer site to support the EMC and SAN infrastructure however as I am the only the one that knows anything about SANs or EMC I am having to get to grips with how they do things here.  (ridiculous as they are a huge company)

I have to logon to a Brocade switch.

I logon to the switch by opening up IE and entering http://<ip_address>

It then loads up Java - Version 1.6.0_16 - annd prompts for a username and password.

I enter the user name and password and it begins to load and I get this mass error message:

Exception encountered during initialization: com.brocade.web.secsan.SecureSANException: Cannot load RBACMatrix from switch:java.io.IOException: Server returned HTTP response code: 400 for URL: http://<same_ip_address_as_i_entered_above>/cal.xml

Details:

com.brocade.web.common.gui.AppContext.initContexts(AppContext.java:578),

com.brocade.web.common.gui.AppContext.init(AppContext.java:306),

com.brocade.web.common.gui.AppContext.init(AppContext.java:192),

com.brocade.web.common.gui.AppContext.init(AppContext.java:137),

com.brocade.web.common.gui.WTApplet.init(WTApplet.java:1069),

com.brocade.web.common.gui.WTApplet.init(WTApplet.java:987),

com.brocade.web.switchview.SwitchExplorerApplet.init(SwitchExplorerApplet.java:79),

com.brocade.web.switchview.SwitchExplorerApplet.main(SwitchExplorerApplet.java:318),

sun.reflect.NaitiveMethodAccessorImpl.Invoke0(Naitive Method),

sun.reflect.NaitiveMethodAccessorImpl.Invoke(Unknown Source),

sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.Invoke(Unknown Source),

java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source),

com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Unknown Source),

com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Unknown Source),

com.sun.javaws.Launcher.doLaunchApp(Unknown Source),

com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Unknown Source),

java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source),

There is an "OK" button at the bottom of the above message, I click on this and another blank Internet Explorer page appears.

Then a progress bar starts loading and it gets to 19% and then stops and does nothing else.

Any ideas what could be casuing this? it appears to be java related but I am not expert on java so I am struggling.

Col

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Problems Accessing Fabric Manager - HELP!

the error show to me as compatibility problem between IE and JAVA.

what is the IE release ?

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-02-2010

Re: Problems Accessing Fabric Manager - HELP!

Thanks for the reply

IE version is - 6.0

The numbers after 6.0 are .2900.2180 - just in case it matters

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Problems Accessing Fabric Manager - HELP!

--->>> IE version is - 6.0

This is the Problem, Java 1.6 is incompatible with IE 6, you need to use JAVA 1.4 or max. a early 1.5 Release.

If you are satisfied with the responses please mark as 'Answered'.
If not, just let me know I can see to get more info.
I would appreciated if you rate the threads.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-02-2010

Re: Problems Accessing Fabric Manager - HELP!

Again thanks for the reply.

I have went to the dir:- c:\program files\java

In the java folder there was:

j2re1.4.2_08

jre1.5.0_15

jre6

I went into the dir:- \program files\java\j2re1.4.2_08\javaws

from this directory I opened javaws.exe - then selected preferences from the FILE menu.

clicked on the "java" tab and have tried ticking the "enable" box for 1.4 and unticking the boxes for 1.5 & 1.6.

I then try and logon to the switch again and get the same error.

I have done the same for the 1.5 and I get the same problem.

Am I missing something?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Problems Accessing Fabric Manager - HELP!

--->>> Am I missing something?

No, you have too much.

I have newer work with 3 different JAVA release, and I'm quite sure the error is caused by this mismatch of all installed release.

check please with the compatibility of FOS ( Release ? ) is loaded, is probable the error is caused by incomaptibilty between JAVA and FOS release.

TechHelp24
Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Problems Accessing Fabric Manager - HELP!

This is surely JAVA error. Pls run IE in another PC, and see whether u can access the fabric through the webtools. are you comfortable with CLI. As a UNIX expert I do all on CLI.you can do that by following command Line reference manual. or just type help at prompt and go for individual  cmnd by help cmnd. You will be able to admin the Fabric atleast

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Problems Accessing Fabric Manager - HELP!

If you are satisfied with the responses please mark as 'Answered'.
If not, just let me know I can see to get more info.
I would appreciated if you rate the threads.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.