Management Software

New Contributor

Help with SMI-S agent config for 48000 director

Hi,

I am new in the storage area so it would be great if someone guide me with this.

I have got this brocade 48k director which I want to connect using SMI-S agent. I downloaded the agent (Brocade SMI agent 120.8.0) for windows and installed. During installtion it asked me the proxy details and I provided the IP address of switch and its user/password. Though for the rest of the protocol settings I selected 'Any' as I was not sure.

I have been trying to connect to the switch using Brocade SMI Agent Configuration tool 120.8.0 but everytime I get errors 'Error Authenticating session' or 'Operation not supported' and then the status shows as 'Login Failed'

I am not able to figure out what's wrong here. I checked the user name password by doing telnet it went fine.

Do I need to enable something on the switch as well so that agent is able to talk to it? Not sure though...

I appreciate your help.

Regards

Frequent Contributor

Re: Help with SMI-S agent config for 48000 director

HI adam.ipad

I just setup the SMI-S agent last week , one thing I noticed is that you'll need to enter a root or admin account ( i used the root account) to auth to the switch.

Once you do that you should be good.

David

New Contributor

Hi David,

Thanks for replying back. I have requested admin to provide me the root/admin rights.

Meanwhile, could you please tell me what agent version you used for connecting to your switch?

I am using Brocade SMI Agent 120.8.0 downloded from brocade's site.

One more thing, while downloading I saw specific agents for different vendor applications (Citrix, HP, Hitachi etc). Does it matter what application I am going to use for talking to agent?

Regards.

New Contributor

Hey David,

Hope you are doing great.

I tried login with both admin and root, but problem still persists. Everytime I faced the same issue