Management Software

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-08-2007

DCFM Switch Discovered: Switch has too many sessions

Currently at DCFM 10.3.2.

unable to access Mcdata switches. Discovery shows the switch has been discovered with a message "Switch has too many sessions"

This is likely in our instance to be related to TPC monitoring as there have been issues collecting the data

How can i clean up these sessions on the switch to enable DCFM access again

thanks, Martin

External Moderator
Posts: 4,809
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: DCFM Switch Discovered: Switch has too many sessions

Testing follow, Stop and restart the DCFM, and try again.

Have you check the compatibility between DCFM 10.3.2 and the current loaded EOS ?

TechHelp24
Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: DCFM Switch Discovered: Switch has too many sessions

you mean to say IBM TPC monitoring, but TPC never creates this type of issue.It will shoe you the topology and if you have licenses for the same you can access the SW.

Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-08-2007

Re: DCFM Switch Discovered: Switch has too many sessions

Yes, EOS levels are 9.9.6

Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-08-2007

Re: DCFM Switch Discovered: Switch has too many sessions

A maintanence call has now been raised to investigate this issue

will post an update on the resolution

External Moderator
Posts: 4,809
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: DCFM Switch Discovered: Switch has too many sessions

Are you able to Manage the switch trough the IE Browser / Basic EFCM ?

http://switchipaddress

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-08-2007

Re: DCFM Switch Discovered: Switch has too many sessions

Yes I can telent into the switchs ok, and where supported i can use the web interface

External Moderator
Posts: 4,809
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: DCFM Switch Discovered: Switch has too many sessions

--->>>How can i clean up these sessions "on the switch".....

if you are able to manage the switch trough the CLI and GUI, the error is caused by DCFM and not from Switch side.

test follow workaround please, Start dcfm, remove this switch from discovery table, logout from DCFM.

Start DCFM now and try the Switch IP in the discovery.

i found a similary Defect which was detected in DCFM 10.3.0 caused when Zone will be moved from EOS based switches to DCX.

not sure is this is the same behavior.....

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-08-2007

Re: DCFM Switch Discovered: Switch has too many sessions

Have narrowed the problem down to the CIMON agents used to manage the EOS switches. when this service was stopped, DCFM discovered these switches again and can now launch element manager via DCFM

will try to understand why

External Moderator
Posts: 4,809
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: DCFM Switch Discovered: Switch has too many sessions

spike, see a note below.

Gathering switch performance data

To complete the discovery process for switch performance functions, a CIMOM must be enabled for your switch.

  • For some switches, if you have the prerequisite firmware, you only need to enable the CIMOM (also referred to as an embedded CIMOM). Switches from Cisco, QLogic, and CNT have embedded CIMOMs.
  • For other switch vendors, you need to install software (the CIMOM proxy) on any host machine and configure it to run providers for one or more switches. Switches from Brocade and McDATA need a CIMOM proxy.

Contact your switch vendor for information on how to enable the CIMOM or install the CIMOM proxy.

To gather switch performance data, follow this procedure:

  1. Run a CIMOM discovery for a switch CIMOM.
  2. Run an out-of-band fabric discovery. Before doing so, do one of the following steps:
    • Add out-of-band fabric agents for each switch you want to run performance on
    • In the Options tab of the out-of-band fabric discovery add the base IPs for those switches.
TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.