Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-17-2011

switch expansion

What do I need to expand a 48000 which is almost full. I have all 16 port cards and I do not want to change them.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: switch expansion

--->>>...and I do not want to change them.

you don't want to change what:

a) 48000 ?

or

b) the 16 Port Blade ?

32 and 48 Port Blade are supported in 48K

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎01-17-2011

Re: switch expansion

I do not want to change the 48K nor the blades.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: switch expansion

then you need a new switch, if you want to expand the SAN Fabric and not "switch expansion" that really another story and bit different question.

TechHelp24
Super Contributor
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: switch expansion

I would assume that a card replacement can be cheaper compared to buy a new switch. As well you save some rack space.

This is my opinion,

Andreas

Regular Contributor
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎11-24-2009

Re: switch expansion

Hi william.macdonald,

If a 48000 is filled with blades and one wants neither of those to be changed, there is no other expansion option within the chassis.

Keep in mind that 48000 offers 64Gbps per blade which means (16) 4G ports without oversubscription. Changing to faster or more dense blades would introduce oversubscription.

Hope this helps,

Linar

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.