Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

steps to be considered for new blade installation on DCX director

Hi All,

  we planned to install new blade on the empty slot of DCX director.

i like to know the steps to be considered before installing?like switch backup..etc...

what are all steps for blade installation?  i searched in internet didnt find any doc.. let me know if there is any doc.

Thanks in Advance...

External Moderator
Posts: 4,812
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: steps to be considered for new blade installation on DCX director

New blade Installation is not disruptive.

You can safely unpack the NEW Blade and insert in Productive DCX.

That all.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: steps to be considered for new blade installation on DCX director

Hi Antonio....thanks...

i like to know as a storage admin what are all implementation plan should be done before installing the blade on production SAN.

Also is there any rule that this particular blade for example FC8-32 should be installed only on slot 4 ..?

thanks in advance

External Moderator
Posts: 4,812
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: steps to be considered for new blade installation on DCX director

--->>> Also is there any rule that this particular blade for example FC8-32 should be installed only on slot 4 ..?

there is no rule to install any particular Blade into a particular SLOT.

who told you that ?

--->>> i like to know as a storage admin what are all implementation plan should be done before installing the blade on production SAN.

I don't have any plane, never use one, and any such plan is unknown to me.

I've installed/expand in all the years I'm work with Brocade equipment since the Brocade 12000, several hundreds Blade, all this as mention in my preview post.

Unpack, Insert Blade into any Free Slot, Power On.

That all.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-02-2012

Re: steps to be considered for new blade installation on DCX director

Thanks...i m newbie..to SAN..so couple of question follows on my mind...so asked..

Since u told there is no rule that any blade can be installed on new slot.. i found slot 5 to 8 used by CP and Core blades.. can i change the slot status? for CP and core blade...

External Moderator
Posts: 4,812
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: steps to be considered for new blade installation on DCX director

Core and CP Blade are another Story.

--->>>can i change the slot status? for CP and core blade...

NO!

They can be installaed ONLY in predefined SLOT.

Slot 5 and 8 are reserved for Core Blade Slot 6 and 7 for CP Blade.

We talk and you ask about Port Blade or any Application Blade such Blade can be installed into any free Slot as per you decision, there are no rule.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.