Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

segmented fabric

Guys, first of all forgive me if i explain this too long. I am new to the world of Brocade SAN. Now here is the issue that we are facing. We have 2 Data centers (say DC and DR). Now there are 8 switches in teh following manner:

At DC
---------

switch1
switch2
switch3
switch4

At DR
---------

switch5
switch6
switch7
switch8

We have created 2 FABRICS with these switches for redundancy. Both sites (DC and DR) and hence these switches are connected by a HP MPX110 MSIL Router containing 2 ports FC1 and FC2. Now the fabrics are designed as under :

Fabric 1:
------------

switch 1 (Primary Switch)
switch2   
switch5
switch6

Fabric 2:
------------

switch3 (Primary Switch)
switch4
switch7
switch8

The 2 MPX110 MSIL are located one each at DC and DR. MPX at the DC is connected to the Primary Switch in the following manner:

FC1 ---------> Switch 1 (Port 0)

FC2 ----------> Switch 3(Port 0)

MPX at the DR is connected to the Primary Switch in the following manner:

FC1 ---------> Switch 5 (Port 0)

FC2 ----------> Switch 7(Port 0)

Now, let me come to the problem. We had some issue with the MPX device as a result the fabric got messed up. After things were sorted , i observed the Fabric number 2 has become segmented into 2 seperate fabrics :

Fabric 2 (original)
--------------------------

Switch 3
SWitch 4

New Fabric (segmented)
-----------------------------------
Switch 7
Switch 8

When i checked the ISL (E port) on Switch 3 (DC) and Switch 7 (DR), it says error Zone Conflict. Bottomline , my DR and DC have become seperated on this particular link and hence running solely on the first working fabric (fabric 1). Can some kind soul please write some simple easy to follow step by step instruction in order to get back to the way it was before.

If you require any further information , please let me know. I need to perform the activity tomorrow ... please

Occasional Contributor