Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

reseting a switch to be on-line and enableing ports

I have the following output when I do a switchshow....

switchstate:     offline

switchmode:    native

Zoning:          on

and it shows all ports no-light  disabled

is there a way to reset the ports to enabled...

the current status of the switch is unused, but I am trying to install it into my SAN envirement...

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: reseting a switch to be on-line and enableing ports

it see the switch is disable.

execute the command "switchtenable" what happened ?

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

Re: reseting a switch to be on-line and enableing ports

No change.

seems to accept the command, but no messages and no change in status...

unfortunatley I have no maintenance on this switch.... is there a way for me to determine if i broken or not?

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: reseting a switch to be on-line and enableing ports

soud not good.

can you please collect some output and post here ?

"errshow"

"licenseshow"

"firmwareshow"

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

Re: reseting a switch to be on-line and enableing ports

I have attached a text file from that output...

I am heading out for the weekend...

Appreciate you help.

Bill Neidigh

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: reseting a switch to be on-line and enableing ports

Bill.

execute "savecore -l"

when a dump file is present please remove whit "savecore"

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-15-2009

Re: reseting a switch to be on-line and enableing ports

Well, I am still haveing an issue.... I cannot enable the ports.

I did the savecore -l and

then cleared the core files.

I am guessing at this time that my switch is just broken and since I do not have Brocade service I am sol.

any suggestions for me to determine if the box is salvagable?

Brocade 4100 silkworm.

Thanks for your assistance.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.