Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-24-2010

port in Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)

Many ports becomed in disabled status. thanks in advice.

switchshow:

  2   2   id    N4   No_Sync          Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)
  3   3   id    N4   No_Light        
  4   4   id    N4   No_Sync          Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)
  5   5   id    N4   In_Sync          Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)
  6   6   id    N4   No_Sync          Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)
  7   7   id    N4   No_Sync          Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)
  8   8   id    N4   In_Sync          Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)
  9   9   id    N4   No_Sync          Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)
10  10   id    N4   In_Sync          Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)

sfpshow:

=============
Port  2:
=============
Identifier:  3    SFP
Connector:   7    LC
Transceiver: 150c402001000000 100,200,400_MB/s M5,M6 sw Inter_dist
Encoding:    1    8B10B
Baud Rate:   42   (units 100 megabaud)
Length 9u:   0    (units km)
Length 9u:   0    (units 100 meters)
Length 50u:  15   (units 10 meters)
Length 62.5u:7    (units 10 meters)
Length Cu:   0    (units 1 meter)
Vendor Name: FINISAR CORP.  
Vendor OUI:  00:90:65
Vendor PN:   FTLF8524P2BNV  
Vendor Rev:  A  
Wavelength:  850  (units nm)
Options:     0032 Loss_of_Sig,Tx_Disable
BR Max:      0  
BR Min:      0  
Serial No:   PBA41KL        
Date Code:   070309 
Temperature: 40 Centigrade
Current:     0.000 mAmps
Voltage:     3286.9 mVolts
RX Power:    376.3 uWatts
TX Power:    0.0 uWatts

Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: port in Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)

Fabric OS:  v5.2.0a had this known defect. The cause was unknown as far as I can remember.

Try rebooting the switch to fix temporarily. Long term solution is to upgrade to 6.1.x and above.

Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-24-2010

Re: port in Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)

DEFECT00078592?

but port 0 and port 1 is online. 

Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: port in Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)

Did you reboot the hosts or devices connected to these ports today and in the last few days.

The problem usually appears when the devices are no able to complete the FLOGI process due to bug in firmware.

Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-24-2010

Re: port in Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)

yes, the customer rebooted the host.

Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: port in Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)

That explains why 2 of your storage ports are still online on 0 and 1 inspite of the DEFECT.

I can only advice you to reboot the switch and upgrade FOS as early as possible.

Kindly mark the thread as answered.

Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎04-24-2010

Re: port in Disabled (Switch not ready for F or L ports)

bijukrishnan,

thanks for your quickly responses. 

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.