Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-20-2012

how to capture fcip performance data over a period?

tried with SAN health no help even with #portcmd ipperf will generate the test only

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: how to capture fcip performance data over a period?

In FOS FCIP Admin Guide,

Page 84

- Displaying FCIP tunnel performance (7800 switch and FX8-24 blade)

The following example shows performance statistics for a tunnel on a 7800 switch.

switch:admin> portshow fciptunnel 17 --perf

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-20-2012

Re: how to capture fcip performance data over a period?

Hi Antonio,

Thanks for the information . i have executed the command and verified the "data transfer TCP connection" section . It's giving the average of 30s . I am trying capture the data to identify the bottleneck why because  during some time in the day my link is getting fully utilized thus result in disk replication stopped  across the site.

i have the WAN vendor report . i don't have DCFM

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: how to capture fcip performance data over a period?


vkannan,

I cannot made some test at the moment because my second 7500 in my LAB Is Faulty, and I'm avaitig for replacement.

--->>> I am trying capture the data to identify the bottleneck why because  during some time in the day my link is getting fully utilized thus result in disk replication stopped  across the site.

I facing similary experience due wrong MTU Settings. are you using default value of 1500  ? Some Provider set the MTU at 1400, can you excluded this ?

are you using 7500 or 7800 Plattforms ?

what for FOS Level ?

Brocade closed several Defect in diverse FOS Release in relation with FCIP 7500/7800

--->>>i have the WAN vendor report . i don't have DCFM

you can use DCFM or BNA as Trial 75 Day. 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-20-2012

Re: how to capture fcip performance data over a period?

using FR4-18i blade

firmware is 6.4.x version.

MTU transfer setting shouldn't be a problem . during the problematic time i have used the brocade web tool live port performance it reaches the limit .

here i am trying to capture the data for identifying the link bottleneck for business

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: how to capture fcip performance data over a period?

Is the FR4-18i in 48000 or DCX Chassis ?

--->>> firmware is 6.4.x version

as "x" since FOS 6.4.0 are 13 New release available.

can you please tell me exact release ?

as per my experience is not easy to identify such problems.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-20-2012

Re: how to capture fcip performance data over a period?

primart site: v6.4.1a

secondary site: v6.3.2e

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: how to capture fcip performance data over a period?

strongly and as from Brocade recommended, in a FCIP environments should be used on both site same! FOS release.

you are actually on TWO Different Level.

check FOS Release Notes about closed DEFECT


TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.