Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

how can i make the fos vertion from 71.2 to V6.2.0C

RT..anyone  can show me the way?

 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,787
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: how can i make the fos vertion from 71.2 to V6.2.0C

Hi,

 

is here a reason why you want to Downgrade from 7.1.2 to 6.2.0c ?

 

keep in mind, some New Switch Model, not support old 6.x FOS Reòlease, but are full compatible and supported with.

 

what is the Switch Type / Model ?

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2014

Re: how can i make the fos vertion from 71.2 to V6.2.0C

thanks for your reply

 

 Switch Type is 300s

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

i got one array that only support V6.2.0C FOS  in the product HCL

 

but when i used the brocade 300s san switch(V7.1.2) to connect

"

 

swd77:root> fcping 26:00:00:01:55:55:9e:63

 

Destination:   26:00:00:01:55:55:9e:63

 

Pinging 26:00:00:01:55:55:9e:63 [0x010f00] with 12 bytes of data:

 

Request rejected by by 0x010f00: Logical Error: time:0 usec

 

Request rejected by by 0x010f00: Logical Error: time:0 usec

 

"

 

so the array company suggest downgrading the fos version

 

i think the main reson is the array support has ended

 

and the way of the upgrade/downgrade drives me crazy...

 

Plz help me sir

External Moderator
Posts: 4,787
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: how can i make the fos vertion from 71.2 to V6.2.0C

can you please tell me the exact Array Name, Model and Firmware / Microcode ?

 

well, is probable that the Array vendor have not longer tested or certified this Array with a new FOS Release,  but in most case 99% work.

 

in you case, I assume you have wrong setting made on array side.

 

first, try follow:

 

on the Switch Port you want to connect the array, set the port disable with the command

 

"portcfgpersistentdisable"

 

disable Qos

 

- if necessary disable NIPV -

 

set the Port Speed Fixed, same Speed as the Array Port,

 

enable the port with command "portcfgpersistentenable"

 

what happened ?

 

let me know.

 

 

TechHelp24
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: how can i make the fos vertion from 71.2 to V6.2.0C

This has NOTHING TO DO WITH THE FOSCODE VERSION !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Basically what happens it that the fcping command sends out an ELS echo command that is just not supported by the attached device (ie the wwn you ping). That's why you get this "Reject" reply.

 

The good thing is that it also shows you have good connectivity. :-)

 

If the frame would have timed out it means there was either no route to that device or plain and simple no connectivity.

 

Your SETUP IS OK AND WORKING.

 

From who is the array? They might have misinterpreted your comment. It is actually them who do no respond to the ELS ECHO command.

Kind regards,
Erwin van Londen
Brocade Distinguished Architect
http://www.erwinvanlonden.net The Fibre Channel blog


Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.