Fibre Channel (SAN)

Contributor

fos Upgrade from v7.0.1

hello,

we need to upgrade san switches so this is my first time upgrade for brocade. have couple of question, it would be great if someone help me here.

1. first phase of switches are switchType:  121.3  , current os is v7.0.1 so can we upgrade to v7.1.1 directly?

sansw01:admin> switchshow | more

switchName:     sansw01

switchType:     121.3

FOS      v7.0.1

2.  is this upgrade process disrupt the any current IO ? we have critical applications running on SAN.

3. is there anyway we can do from webtool rather than firmwaredownload cmd , if not can some one share the syntax/screenshot of firmwaredownload.

thanks in advance.

Valued Contributor

Re: fos Upgrade from v7.0.1

1. Usually yes as this is just a minor upgrade, refer to the release notes for more details

2, 121.3 designates the switch as a DCX8510. These support non-disruptive firmware download and activation.

3. for syntax on firmwaredownload, just type help firmwaredownload on your CLI. It will show all options parameters you need. Being a DCX please observe that both CP's must be in sync, by checking hashow output on the CLI.

A GUI installation is for sure possible IF you have BNA. In older firmware versions you could update using webtools, but if this is still available in current releases I'm not sure. You can check this be opening webtools > switch admin > and look for a firmware download tab

Contributor

As a best practice I would always do two things before any upgrade :

1. Have an OS colleague check the multipathing software is working well and also if there are no error on the disk paths before any upgrade even though it is supposed to be a non-disruptive upgrade, crazy things happen

2. Configupload - to upload the config of the switch to some safe place. 

san1:admin> configupload

Protocol (scp, ftp, sftp, local) : ftp

Server Name or IP Address : XX.XX..XX.XX

User Name : root

Path/Filename : /tmp/test.txt