Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor

fabricshow shows incorrect switch ethernet IP Address ?

When I do a fabricshow on one of our fabrics it shows two of the switches with an incorrect 'Enet IP Addr' ?   If I log onto one of the switches using the IP address it has actually been assigned then I can login fine and a 'ipaddrshow' shows the correct IP address.

Can anyone explain why the IP may be showing incorrectly in the fabricshow ?

PS. I have only recently taken over management of this fabric so I have limited knowledge of what has been done to the fabric in the past.

Thanks in advance

Chris

Valued Contributor

Re: fabricshow shows incorrect switch ethernet IP Address ?

Could you post some more info like fabricshow, ipaddrshow on the switches in question?

Occasional Contributor

Hi Dion,

Additional info below:

fabricshow on core01 (exactly the same on sw02):

Switch ID   Worldwide Name           Enet IP Addr    FC IP Addr      Name

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

1: fffc01 10:00:00:xx:xx:xx:xx:63 xxx.xx.100.160  0.0.0.0        >"xxx-xxxx-core01"

2: fffc02 10:00:00:xx:xx:xx:xx:36 xxx.xx.100.4    0.0.0.0         "xxx-xxxx-sw01"

3: fffc03 10:00:00:xx:xx:xx:xx:ca xxx.xx.100.25   0.0.0.0         "xxx-xxxx-sw02"

4: fffc04 10:00:00:xx:xx:xx:xx:02 xxx.xx.100.47   0.0.0.0         "xxx-xxxx-sw03"

5: fffc05 10:00:00:xx:xx:xx:xx:7f xxx.xx.100.71   0.0.0.0         "xxx-xxxx-sw04"

The Fabric has 5 switches

ipaddrshow on sw02:

Ethernet IP Address: xxx.xx.150.84

Ethernet Subnetmask: 255.255.254.0

Gateway IP Address: xxx.xx.151.254

DHCP: On

Valued Contributor

DHCP: On

Why do you have DHCP ON? And since it is on what adress is it assigned ATM and how does it get assigned, ie static using MAC or dynamic?

I think this has something to do with it.

Could you execute configshow|grep ipa to verify if the set adress and post the result?

Occasional Contributor