Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-07-2011

configuring zones across FCIP

I have 2 2498_R06 routers connected acorss the WAN and the fciptunnel is up. I have created the LSAN on both edge fabrics and when I do a lsanzoneshow I see the local WWN as an ESIST but the remote side as Configured. I am assuming that this is telling me that it is not seeing the other side to put it into an ESIST state.  From what I had read port WWN's should be in an "EXIST" state. When I lookup up the state the remote side is in a "Configured" state.

Steps:

On edge fabric:1 Prod: I created an aliases for the Prod and DR WWN:

On edge fabric 1 Prod, I created a zone named  LSAN_XIV_REP_to_XIV_DR  and included both the Prod and DR aliases.

On edge fabric 2 Prod: I created an aliases for the Prod and DR WWN:

On edge fabric 2 DR, I created a zone named  LSAN_XIV_REP_to_XIV_DR   and included both the Prod and DR  aliases.

WWN Info:

Prod: 50:01:73:80:0c:60:01:43

DR: 50:01:73:80:16:40:01:41

LSAN Show from both Routers

Prod Side:

2398_R06:admin> lsanzoneshow -s -z LSAN_XIV_REP_to_XIV_DR

Fabric ID: 51 Zone Name: LSAN_XIV_REP_to_XIV_DR

        50:01:73:80:0c:60:01:43  EXIST

        50:01:73:80:16:40:01:41  Configured

DR Side:

2498_R06:admin> lsanzoneshow -s -z LSAN_XIV_REP_to_XIV_DR

Fabric ID: 63 Zone Name: LSAN_XIV_REP_to_XIV_DR

        50:01:73:80:0c:60:01:43  Configured

        50:01:73:80:16:40:01:41  EXIST

FCIP Tunnel connections

Prod Side:

2498_R06:admin> portshow fciptunnel all

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tunnel Circuit  OpStatus Flags   Uptime   TxMBps   RxMBps ConnCnt CommRt  Met

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

16     -         Up      c----   4h7m3s     0.00     0.00    3      -      -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  Flags: tunnel: c=compression f=fastwrite t=Tapepipelining F=FICON T=TPerf

        circuit: s=sack

DR Side:

2498_R06:admin> portshow fciptunnel all
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tunnel Circuit  OpStatus Flags   Uptime   TxMBps   RxMBps ConnCnt CommRt  Met
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
16     -         Up      c---- 3h57m32s     0.00     0.00    3      -  

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  Flags: tunnel: c=compression f=fastwrite t=Tapepipelining F=FICON T=TPerf

        circuit: s=sack

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎07-27-2009

Re: configuring zones across FCIP

Try to remove the aliases and use the direct WWPN. Aliases are part of a zonedb and since zonedb's are not merged accross fabric (VEX) ports the remote side has not idea what WWPN this alias is hooking up to.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: configuring zones across FCIP

Hi,

Have the 2 routers merged together? Becuase the 'configured' status means that the zone has been created but the local router is not receiving info of the remote wwn. When everything's ok the status of the remote wwn should be 'imported' and not 'exist'.

Please, attach the output of the islshow and fabricshow in order to discard a switch-to-switch connectivity issue.

Rgds

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.