Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-23-2009

cnmd process in DCX using high CPU and mem

Any one knows what is cnmd process and why it is using 96% of the CPU cycle and high memory.

 

Thanks

Shahwar

Regular Contributor
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎11-24-2009

Re: cnmd process in DCX using high CPU and mem

This is Cluster Node Manager daemon and as far as I understand it's responsible for CPs configuration coordination in a HA cluster (think DCX blades).

 

Any CNM-* messages in RAS Log?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-23-2009

Re: cnmd process in DCX using high CPU and mem

Nothing in log.

 

Here what the problem is .... CPU load is 98.8 %  which is abnormal.

 

 

top - 12:19:05 up 47 days,  5:50,  1 user,  load average: 1.37, 1.47, 1.41
Tasks: 111 total,   1 running, 110 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s): 24.8%us, 74.3%sy,  0.0%ni,  0.0%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  1.0%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   1863188k total,  1380484k used,   482704k free,    38036k buffers
Swap:        0k total,        0k used,        0k free,   481576k cached

 

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
2142 root      16   0  132m 6880 4444 S 98.8  0.4  34222:01 cnmd
1684 root      16   0 84224 7068 4496 S  0.7  0.4   1806:26 emd
25554 root      16   0  2440 1196  940 R  0.7  0.1   0:00.27 top
    1 root      16   0  1696  592  524 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.43 init
    2 root      34  19     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:13.14 ksoftirqd/0
    3 root      10  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.96 events/0
    4 root      13  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.11 khelper
    5 root      10  -5     0    0    0 S  0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kthread

Regular Contributor
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎11-24-2009

Re: cnmd process in DCX using high CPU and mem

Two things:

 

First, what firmware version you're running? It might be a firmware glitch.

 

Second, as that's a DCX I would try haFailover. But, I would do that in off-hours, just to be sure.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-23-2009

Re: cnmd process in DCX using high CPU and mem

We are running v6.4.1a which have some bug for http session. I planning to do the ha failover to see any better, Will update.

 

Thanks

Shahwar

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-27-2008

Re: cnmd process in DCX using high CPU and mem

We're seeing the same problem. Did this fix it for you?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-27-2012

Re: cnmd process in DCX using high CPU and mem

Hi there, 

 

I had the same issue with two Directors few weeks ago. 

In the release notes for FOS 7.1.0 I've found the following information: 

 

The network scanning application causes high CPU utilization by the CNM daemon.  --> Fixed in Fabric OS 7.1.0.

 

Hope this helps Smiley Happy 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: cnmd process in DCX using high CPU and mem

Hi,

 

That behavior looks like DEFECT000370943 to me.

 

DEFECT000370943.PNG

 

As a workaround you could reboot the Standby CP, then wait for it to sync with the active, and then perform an hafailover.

 

In order to completely fix it, upgrade the FOS.

 

Rgds

Felipon

 

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.