Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor
dghosh

Upgrading firmware on silkworm 300

Hi there

I am new to SAN switches and want to upgrade the firmware on them. The current version is 6.4.1a and I want to upgrade it to 6.4.3b, which I believe is the latest version. I have downloaded the firmware from HP site, as these are HP badged switches. However I have got a few questions:

• The firmware file size is approx 900MB, that seems like an awfully large size for a firmware. Is that a correct assumption? If this is not the right file, can someone please point me to the place where I can find the files.
  • Looking at the downloaded file, I can't see any instructions on how to upgrade the firmware, i.e no readme files etc. How can I upgrade the firmware? I have seen a few documentation which directs me to use the downloadFirmware command. However if I put the unzipped file on a FTP server and use the command from the command line of the switch, provide the login credentials of the ftp server, does the switch know to then go and find the files it needs. The zip file I have downloaded contains lots of packages and files. Will the switch automatically know which files to download and what to install?
  • Will the switch need a reboot after the firmware upgrade. Again all the documentation I have seen refers to a warm/non-disruptive reboot, but is that the case or will the reboot take place causing the switch to actually shut down and restart.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Regular Contributor
Guldmyr

Re: Upgrading firmware on silkworm 300

a) They are large because they contain firmware for all the models that support that firmware

b) Check out the "Fabric OS Administrator's Guide". There are 10 pages dedicated to maintaining firmware. Yes, if you enter the correct path and your ftp-server can handle the connection then the switch will download the packages it need and upgrade the switch.