Fibre Channel (SAN)

Contributor

Upgrade Fabric OS

Hi,

I am Alex, I am new with fiber channel switching  and i have some beginner questions.

I have to upgrade the F. O.S. of a brocade 200E san switch from version 5.0.1 to 6.2.2. I have found on the IBM web site, on Fix Central, a lots of updates that should be made up to version 6.2.2. I suppose that all of them have to be applied to the san switch up to version 6.2.2?

The san switch i am talking about is connected with another one, so they work as if they were one - a fabric. Must i break the connection between them while performing the upgrade?

I have started to download the Fabric OS versions. I have unpacked the zip files, but inside the folder i see several SWBD folders and many files. How do i know which file is for my san switch? In the read me for the Fabric OS it does say that my san switch is supported, but i do not know which file to chose.

I intent to upgrade the san switch using ftp option from the san switch interface. Does anyone know an easier method?

Best regards Alex.

External Moderator

Re: Upgrade Fabric OS

Alex,

anyway, this is a common topic here, use the search option give more result

First, since the switch is current  running at 5.0.x, you must made upgrade in several step, direct upgrade to 6.2.2f

( BTW. this is latest available release ) is not supported.

the upgrade path should be as follow:

5.0.x -> 5.1.x -> 5.2.x -> 5.3.x ->6.0.> 6.1.x and finally to 6.2

about the folder you mention:

you must post the package in ftp root or folder, point by the upgrade "firmwaredownload" command to this folder i.e.

/v5.1.1/release.plist

that all.

TechHelp24
Contributor

Thank you for your answer.

So what you are saying is that i have to apply all 5.0.x versions, then all 5.1.x versions, and so on, right?