Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-15-2011

Unable to start SNMP daemon on switch

Hello

I have a switch where the snmp deaemon has stopped.

I've tried to start it with the script in init.d, but it doesn't work:

xxxxxxxxxx:root> ./snmpd.sh restart

Re-starting snmpd:\n

./snmpd.sh: snmpd: command not found

done.

xxxxxxxxxx:root>

I'm not an unix/linux admin so I don't really know where to start looking

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Unable to start SNMP daemon on switch

check if snmp is running.

output should be similar to

sw77:root> ps -ef|grep -i snmp

root       814   666  0  2011 ?        00:00:10 snmpd -S fcsw -s 0

root     16872 16798  0 07:11 pts/0    00:00:00 grep -i snmp

snmpd.sh requires 2 variables to be given.

on the the start|stop|restart|etctera bit.

the other part is something indicated as <sno>

I've tested it on one of my own switches and <sno> was 0 (the same number as in the output above)

although stoppping snmp with /etc/init.d/snmpd.sh works fine, usually starting it will not work with the error command not found.

This is caused by the fact that snmpd is not reachable from the PATH variable, and as such its failing.

Again I've tested it on my own switch and starting it was done with

/fabos/libexec/snmpd start 0

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-15-2011

Re: Unable to start SNMP daemon on switch

Hello

Thanks for the reply, however it doesn't really work on my switch....

I can now start the daemon, but it seems to be started as a foreground process, and if I hit ctrl+c

it exits with a segmentation fault

/fabos/libexec/snmpd start 0

SNMP Research EMANATE/Lite Agent Version 16.2.0.9

Copyright 1989-2006 SNMP Research, Inc.

Segmentation fault

I get the same segmentation fault if I login as admin through another telnet session and run the snmpconfig command.

It seems that a hareboot is required to get this working

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Unable to start SNMP daemon on switch

Sorry to here that the command workes for me with the daemon continuing after logout..

Perhaps starting it as /fabos/libexec/snmpd start 0 & will push it to the background.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.