Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-21-2003

Tapes and Disks over Single HBA

I have several Sun servers each with two Qlogic HBAs. The two HBAs in the hosts are attached to separate fabrics (Brocade Silkworm 3800s). The disks are Hitachi and the servers are in zones for the appropriate LUNs. Now we are ready to add tape drives from STK into the mix. We were planning to use the same HBAs for both disk and tape access. We are planning to use Veritas Netbackup.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎08-08-2003

Re: Tapes and Disks over Single HBA

We are currently running a similar environment, although we are just now adding Sun boxes in the mix.Hope this helps...

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-08-2003

Re: Tapes and Disks over Single HBA

The way that rslinger zones is actually pretty good practice and also fairly common. The single server zones with Windows is mainly due to the fact the most versions of windows out there are not SAN aware. This means, they will go out and try to grab anything they see and think it is their disk (or tape).Keeping disk and tape separate via zones is also good practice.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-29-2003

Re: Tapes and Disks over Single HBA

We use separate HBAs for tape and disk where the vendors of the tape or disk are different. Otherwise we get support problems. As we use StK tapes but not their disks, we almost always have tape on a separate HBA. Also you cannot set the driver parameters ideally for both on one HBA. Server vendors also do not like you to buy 3rd party HBAs - worst case you may find server vendor and storage vendor have no HBAs they both support We usually zone one-HBA per zone to multiple targets. But on EMC Celerra we are using one zone per target tape drive. Seems to help, but unusual.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-31-2003

Re: Tapes and Disks over Single HBA

We have 30 HPUX boxes and over 10 Wintel (Proliant and HP netserves) using the sames HBS to access both disks and tape drives in a lan-free backups architecture.HTH

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-27-2003

Re: Tapes and Disks over Single HBA

It is very interesting reading all the associated mails. Many ways to skin a cat, I totally agrre with all the mails, because it really does depend on your setup, however...Sorry

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-07-2004

Re: Tapes and Disks over Single HBA

Guys,Thanks

Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎08-08-2003

Re: Tapes and Disks over Single HBA

All vendors will tell you to use an HBA for disk and an HBA for tape. They want to sell you more hardwre. SCSI is SCSI. Let er rip...

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-07-2004

Re: Tapes and Disks over Single HBA

True, but some tape vendors are starting to introduce HBA settings that may conflict with settings optimized for disk.

Contributor
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎08-29-2005

Re: Tapes and Disks over Single HBA

I think it's safe to say that best practices dictate that disk and tape not be mixed on the same HBA. However, in most cases, it will work - we've got our NetBackup master/media server using the same HBA for both but our two newer media servers have the traffic on separate HBAs. We've got the new HBAs for our master on our TODO list though.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.