Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-13-2006

Switchport stuck in G-Port mode, portlogdump included...

Hello

2 HP bladeservers lost their SAN connection and when I looked in the switches both ports on both switches in the enclosure

was stuck as G-Ports, rebooting and removal of the bladeserver didn't help

Only a reboot of the switch made the ports ok again, portdisable/enable didn't help

Fabric OS 6.2.0g and the switch in running in accessgateway mode

Here's the portlogdump for port 8, can anyone interpret it for me??

16:12:45.217 SPEE       sn        8   WS  00000000,00000000,00000000 
16:12:45.587 SPEE       sn        8   NM  00000000,00000000,00000000 
16:12:45.587 SPEE       sn        8   NF  00000000,00000000,00000000 
16:12:45.587 SPEE       sn        8   NC  00000004,00000000,00000000 
16:12:45.588 INTR       pstate    8  OL1
16:12:45.594 INTR       pstate    8   AC
16:12:45.594 PORT       scn       8   11  00000000,00000000,00000002
16:12:45.594 PORT       Rx3       8  116  22fffffe,00000000,0007ffff,04000000
16:12:45.595 FCPH       read      8  116  22fffffe,00000000,0e000000,00000000,00078004
16:12:45.595 FCPH       seq       8   74  01290000,00078004,000003f2,0000001c,00000000
16:12:45.716 PORT       scn       8    1  00000000,00000000,00000001
16:12:45.716 PORT       scn       8   22  00000000,00000000,00000010

External Moderator
Posts: 4,811
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Switchport stuck in G-Port mode, portlogdump included...

--->>>2 HP bladeservers ......

--->>>...both ports on both switches....

Switch Model ? please post here the switchType result from command "switchshow"

--->>>...was stuck as G-Ports....

Internal or External Port ?

G_Port are generic Port support E and F Port

In Access Gateway mode Internale Port ( Port Number ) are Mapped to External Port ( Port Number ) as N_Port for NPIV

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-13-2006

Re: Switchport stuck in G-Port mode, portlogdump included...

switchtype 43.3

internal ports,actuallt port 7 & 8

The ISL are on port 17 & 18.

Heres the switchow output:

BRB2AG3:admin> switchshow
switchName:     BRB2AG3
switchType:     43.3
switchState:    Online  
switchMode:     Access Gateway Mode
switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:1e:0f:31:61
switchBeacon:   OFF

Area Port Media Speed State     Proto
=====================================
  0   0   --    N4   No_Module        (POD License Not Assigned Yet)
  1   1   cu    N4   Online           F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:85:83:7d 0x14ee01
  2   2   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
  3   3   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
  4   4   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
  5   5   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
  6   6   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
  7   7   cu    N4   Online           F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:79:04:0f 0x14ee02
  8   8   cu    N4   Online           F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:76:b3:3d 0x14fe01
  9   9   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
10  10   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
11  11   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
12  12   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
13  13   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
14  14   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
15  15   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
16  16   cu    AN   No_Sync          (POD License Not Assigned Yet) Disabled (Persistent)
17  17   id    N4   Online           N-Port  10:00:00:05:1e:36:35:c6 0x14ee00
18  18   id    N4   Online           N-Port  10:00:00:05:1e:36:35:c6 0x14fe00
19  19   --    N4   No_Module        (POD License Not Assigned Yet)
20  20   --    N4   No_Module        (POD License Not Assigned Yet)
21  21   --    N4   No_Module        (POD License Not Assigned Yet)
22  22   --    N4   No_Module        (POD License Not Assigned Yet)
23  23   --    N4   No_Module        (POD License Not Assigned Yet)

The problem was that port 7 & 8 showed up as online and G-Port, I didn't see any wwn logged in to the ports

External Moderator
Posts: 4,811
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Switchport stuck in G-Port mode, portlogdump included...

see please my recently Contribution about PortlogDump

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-20-2010

Re: Switchport stuck in G-Port mode, portlogdump included...

I have exactly the same problem in a IBM Blacenter H on internal ports. Our switchs are Brocade 20 port 8Gb SAN Switch Module for IBM BladeCenter part number 44X1924 with fabric OS 6.1.3b

We have ports which switch from F-Port to G-Port randomly so we lost path on our RedHat OS. The IBM support doesn't find any solution !!

I've read your contribution but it doesn't help me

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Switchport stuck in G-Port mode, portlogdump included...

is it on AG mode? in AG mode it will show you NPIV. Otherwise it will be in E/F port.Changing to G port will definitely take the hosts offline. The problem with chassis based product is that SAN admins can hardly troublshoot it. If you have logged a call , then they should give u the solution, otherwise they will discuss at Brocade backend. What you can do extreme is to change the SW.This I am saying on my practical experiences.Or else you can try atleast by FOS  upgrade  or as mentioned in the previous mail by rebooting the SW.But atlast you have to change the SW if it behaves again like that.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-20-2010

Re: Switchport stuck in G-Port mode, portlogdump included...

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

It is not in AG mode so yes it should be in E/F Port. Due to G-Port, hosts lost connectivity. We have created cases and changed 1 switch and midplane !! But the problem is still here. Maybe we can try to change the second switch.

We tried IBM recommended firmware 6.3.1b and last stable Brocade firmware 6.3.2 and same problems...

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Switchport stuck in G-Port mode, portlogdump included...

--->>> I have exactly the same problem in a IBM Blacenter H on internal ports.

--->>> It is not in AG mode so yes it should be in E/F Port.

rsalmon,

then the problem is another and not the same, and not caused by AG mode.

You may have to check if Port's are correct set and Enable in the IBM Blade Center Management Module.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-20-2010

Re: Switchport stuck in G-Port mode, portlogdump included...

Yes the term exactly is not appropriate, sorry.

But it's the first topic i have found which talk about Switchport and G-Port !

Ports are well configured, default settings + 8gb speed forced, and tried with lower speeds.

I've already set Enable in Blade Center Management Module

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Switchport stuck in G-Port mode, portlogdump included...

--->>> Yes the term exactly is not appropriate, sorry.

No problem....

Can you please provide me the "switchshow" ; "licenseshow" ; "nsshow" ; and "fabricshow" output ?

thanks.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.