Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-17-2016
Accepted Solution

Segmented switch E-port

We try to connect 2 SAN switches between DataCenter. The distance is less than 10 Km. We connect both DataCenter with DWDM. When we try to connect both switches the output is this:

 

SW01 SN6500:

94 94 b35e00 id 10G Online FC LE E-Port segmented,10:00:50:eb:1a:ee:5c:5c (Long distance mode incompat)
95 95 b35f00 id 10G No_Light FC

 

SW02 SN6000:

46 46 902e00 id 10G Online FC E-Port segmented,10:00:c4:f5:7c:20:27:c0 (Long distance mode incompat)
47 47 902f00 id 10G No_Light FC

 

Can you help to find the correct configuration?

 

Regards.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Segmented switch E-port

the port show as be set at 10G

 

is a license installed ?

 

additional if you want to use 10Gbps port, keep in mind 10G is supported only in first Port Group 0-7

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-16-2016

Re: Segmented switch E-port

Is the LE is set for both the sides ?

is the port AN or manual set for 10G?

Is your DWDM supports this speed?

please check both the port config with portcfgshow 

 

Regards

Sushanth

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Segmented switch E-port

@Sushanth

 

he try to use/connect unsupported ports at 10G

 

SW01 SN6500:

94 94 b35e00 id 10G Online FC LE E-Port segmented,10:00:50:eb:1a:ee:5c:5c (Long distance mode incompat)
95 95 b35f00 id 10G No_Light FC

 

SW02 SN6000:

46 46 902e00 id 10G Online FC E-Port segmented,10:00:c4:f5:7c:20:27:c0 (Long distance mode incompat)
47 47 902f00 id 10G No_Light FC

 

10G is supported only on Port 0-7

 

 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-16-2016

Re: Segmented switch E-port

Hi Antonio,

 

Fully agree on that only first 8 port can be configured on 65xx with 10G 

 

Just thinking, how come the 10G port is showing online

 

Regards

Sushanth

External Moderator
Posts: 4,929
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Segmented switch E-port

Hi sushanth,

 

I made same WDM installation years ago by a customer ( don't remember if was FOS 7.0.x or 7.1.x ) and WDM at 10G was supported only by mentioned Port group / Octet

 

to clarify.....

 

I believe with later FOS release user can set with "portcfgoctetspeedcombo" any prefered Octet, - 1, 2, and so on - however by WDM config only the First Octet can be used and this restrictions persist.

 

I'm not 100% sure, I'll test this next week in my LAB between 6510 and DCX , I've here for both platforms a 10G License.

 

 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-16-2016

Re: Segmented switch E-port

Thanks very much Antonio. Will look for your update 

 

 

Regards

Sushanth

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎04-27-2009

Re: Segmented switch E-port

As for the (Long distance mode incompat): Your SW02  port 46 has no LE configuration therefore the incomp.

If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.