Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-06-2014

[SOLVED] Path´s offline when changing IBM SVC hardware from CG8 nodes on brocade directors to DH8 nodes on....

[ Edited ]

Path´s offline when changing IBM SVC hardware from CG8 nodes on brocade directors to DH8 nodes on brocade 6520 switches

 

 

--> Current situation:

 

We are operating IBM SVC (Firmware V7.3.0.6, HW CG8) on a Brocade SAN256B Director (FOS 6.4.1.a)

 

--> Goal:

 

We´d like to replace our current IBM SVC CG8 hardware with the new IBM SVC DH8 hardware (in place upgrade). The new SVC Nodes are connected to other (new!) switches in the same fabric (Brocade 6520, FOS 7.2.1a). So there is no need to chang zoning.

 

--> Problem:

Step: replace first node hardware CG8 with DH8 and re-add to the cluster.

Problem: a few host paths (windows, linux, esx) were still be offline but not all!

 

Work a round: connecting the new SVC Node to the old Brocade SAN256B director brought all paths immediately online.

 

Storage backend and SVC interconnect were unconcerned. All backend paths were online on the new brocade 6520 with the new SVC DH8 Nodes.

 

Does anyone have an idea?

 

Thanks in advance!

 

 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,907
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Path´s offline when changing IBM SVC hardware from CG8 nodes on brocade directors to DH8 nodes on....

Hi,

 

is probable you need to made some port parameter change "portcfgshow" command give details.

 

for details how to set the port, "portcfg" please refer the FOS command reference manuals

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-06-2014

Re: Path´s offline when changing IBM SVC hardware from CG8 nodes on brocade directors to DH8 nodes on....

thank you for your reply.

 

here is the portcfg of the port which does not work on the new switch:

Area Number:              50
Octet Speed Combo:        1(16G|8G|4G|2G)
Speed Level:              8G
AL_PA Offset 13:          OFF
Trunk Port                ON
Long Distance             OFF
VC Link Init              OFF
Locked L_Port             OFF
Locked G_Port             ON
Disabled E_Port           ON
Locked E_Port             OFF
ISL R_RDY Mode            OFF
RSCN Suppressed           OFF
Persistent Disable        OFF
LOS TOV enable            OFF
NPIV capability           ON
QOS Port                  AE
Port Auto Disable:        OFF
Rate Limit                OFF
EX Port                   OFF
Mirror Port               OFF
SIM Port                  OFF
Credit Recovery           ON
F_Port Buffers            OFF
E_Port Credits            OFF
Fault Delay:              0(R_A_TOV)
NPIV PP Limit:            255
CSCTL mode:               OFF
D-Port mode:              OFF
D-Port over DWDM:         OFF
Compression:              OFF
Encryption:               OFF
FEC:                      ON

 

 

this is the portcfg on the old director which works fine:

Area Number:              77
Speed Level:              AUTO(HW)
Fill Word:                0(Idle-Idle)
AL_PA Offset 13:          OFF
Trunk Port                ON
Long Distance             OFF
VC Link Init              OFF
Locked L_Port             OFF
Locked G_Port             OFF
Disabled E_Port           OFF
Locked E_Port             OFF
ISL R_RDY Mode            OFF
RSCN Suppressed           OFF
Persistent Disable        OFF
LOS TOV enable            OFF
NPIV capability           ON
QOS E_Port                OFF
Port Auto Disable:        OFF
Rate Limit                OFF
EX Port                   OFF
Mirror Port               OFF
Credit Recovery           ON
F_Port Buffers            OFF
Fault Delay:              0(R_A_TOV)
NPIV PP Limit:            126
CSCTL mode:               OFF

 

 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎05-26-2009

Re: Path´s offline when changing IBM SVC hardware from CG8 nodes on brocade directors to DH8 nodes on....

Is there any pattern on which host paths are working and which not? Is that really bound to a specific node or a fabric or a set of hosts? For example could it be that there is a configuration on the host that doesn't care much about changes in the fabric and therefore didn't re-login to the new SVC ports (with hopefully the old WWPN)? AIX for example has the dyntrk option. If it's disable, AIX won't care much about the ports in the new position (because the FC-ID changes).

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-06-2014

Re: Path´s offline when changing IBM SVC hardware from CG8 nodes on brocade directors to DH8 nodes on....

hi thank you for your input.

 

"Is there any pattern on which host paths are working and which not?"

Indeed there is one. Basically it is only svc port 2 in fabric 2 which makes the troubles.

 

We can reduce the problem to the following statement:

Is the initiator port connected to the old directors and the target port to the new switches -> end in fail condition.

But the condition exists only on svc port 2 in fabric 2 Smiley Happy

Svc port 4 in fabric 2 --> works on the new switches

SVC port 1,3 in fabric 1 --> works on the new switches

 

"For example could it be that there is a configuration on the host that doesn't care much about changes in the fabric and therefore didn't re-login to the new SVC ports"

All the other paths are online on the hosts, when moving the svc ports on the new switchs.

Only port svc port 2 is concerned.

 

Hosts connected to the new brocade switches are unconcerned!

 

Initiator old director -> target new switch --> BAD, only svc port2

Initiator old director -> target old director --> GOOD

Initiator new switch -> target old director --> GOOD

Initiator new switch -> target new switch --> GOOD

 

If we exchange svc port 2 to svc port 6 in zoning, then port 6 is affected .....

 

Thanks for your Help!

 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-06-2014

Re: Path´s offline when changing IBM SVC hardware from CG8 nodes on brocade directors to DH8 nodes on....

Problem solved!

 

Problem was a bug in FOS 6.4.2.

 

DEFECT000469915

 

Symptom: CLI nscamshow reported "state is unknown" for remote switches' Port IDs and impacted devices cannot communicate with each other.

 

Work-A-Round: hafailover

 

Solution: Upgrade FOS

We are now running FOS 6.4.3f on Directors

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.