Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-31-2008

SFPSHOW reports wrong Data

I changed a lw SFP with a sw SFP. When i now use the sfphow command it still reports the sfp as a lw sfp. Is there another solution than rebooting the switch to refresch the information?

N/A
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-23-2008

Re: SFPSHOW reports wrong Data

Hi,

You may have to issue one of the commands in the "portcfg*" group to set the long distance of that particular port. If I recollect properly the command is portcflLongDistance . PLease check it out. This will help you to put back your port in the right mode.

With regards,

mohan

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-31-2008

Re: SFPSHOW reports wrong Data

No it has nothing to do with portcfg.

Here a example of the wrong output:

sfpshow 3

Identifier: 3 SFP

Connector: 7 LC

Transceiver: 1501001200000000 100,200,400_MB/s SM lw Long_dist

Encoding: 1 8B10B

Baud Rate: 43 (units 100 megabaud)

Length 9u: 20 (units km)

Length 9u: 200 (units 100 meters)

Length 50u: 0 (units 10 meters)

Length 62.5u:0 (units 10 meters)

Length Cu: 0 (units 1 meter)

Vendor Name: JDS UNIPHASE

Vendor OUI: 00:01:9c

Vendor PN: JSHR42L3062B5

Vendor Rev:

Wavelength: 1310 (units nm)

Options: 001a Loss_of_Sig,Tx_Fault,Tx_Disable

BR Max: 5

BR Min: 5

Serial No: F75097960040

Date Code: 07121401

Temperature: 40 Centigrade

Current: 6.520 mAmps

Voltage: 3311.2 mVolts

RX Power: 265.4 uWatts

TX Power: 342.6 uWatts

In the Slot ist a SW SFP and the output should be like:

Identifier: 3 SFP

Connector: 7 LC

Transceiver: 150c402001000000 100,200,400_MB/s M5,M6 sw Inter_dist

Encoding: 1 8B10B

Baud Rate: 42 (units 100 megabaud)

Length 9u: 0 (units km)

Length 9u: 0 (units 100 meters)

Length 50u: 15 (units 10 meters)

Length 62.5u:7 (units 10 meters)

Length Cu: 0 (units 1 meter)

Vendor Name: FINISAR CORP.

Vendor OUI: 00:90:65

Vendor PN: FTLF8524P2BNV-HP

Vendor Rev: A

Wavelength: 850 (units nm)

Options: 0032 Loss_of_Sig,Tx_Disable

BR Max: 0

BR Min: 0

Serial No: PCS5J9A

Date Code: 071230

Temperature: 38 Centigrade

Current: 0.000 mAmps

Voltage: 3316.0 mVolts

RX Power: 0.0 uWatts

TX Power: 0.0 uWatts

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-05-2005

Re: SFPSHOW reports wrong Data

We had the same issue. Fixed by disabling the port, re-seating the sfp (completely remove, replace), then re-enabling port.

Contributor
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎08-29-2005

Re: SFPSHOW reports wrong Data

I reported this to HP (and/or Brocade) a while ago. It's definitely a bug. If you pull the SFP and re-insert it, it will refresh the display. BUT, only if you do this with the port active. If you disable the port, re-insert the SFP, and enable the port, the information won't be refreshed.

This answer obviously sucks because your longwave SFP is most likely for an ISL and you don't really want to be pulling these hot... Hopefully you've got your ports trunked so you can pull one out of the trunk group while you reseat the SFP.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-31-2008

Re: SFPSHOW reports wrong Data

I tried the same with HP/Brocade but got no answer, which is the normal answer if your switch is not brocken.

So hopefully Brocade will design a patch that you can rescan online without booting or removing sfps

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-02-2013

Re: SFPSHOW reports wrong Data

I know this is a old post but wanted to reply for any other that come to this post.

 

The SFP data shown SFPshow command output is not fresh data and the CP on the switch does not poll this data very often i dont know the interval off the top of my head but the is a -f operand in the command to force a refresh so each time the command is issued fresh data is polled from the SFP:

 

sfpshow slot/port -f

 

This will show the live data from the SFP like serial number, wave length and power levels... just using the sfpshow command shows old data.

 

In the supportshow and save logs the sfpshow also reports old data.

 

Thanks

Allan (EMC)

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.