Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-21-2016

SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

 

if no means how to autonegotiate this? please share the document for our reference

 

if yes means please share the details

External Moderator
Posts: 4,934
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

[ Edited ]

@Gopinath.r

 

--->>> Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

 

Not supported.

 

SFP+ Compatibility Matrix

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-21-2016

Re: SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

 

Thanks for your prompt response please also send quick respond for below queries

 

can we auto negotiate that if possible?

 

can u share if any compatabilty document is there? 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,934
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

->can we auto negotiate that if possible?

 

The answer is NO! 16Gbps SFP+ cannot be used in 8Gb Platforms.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-09-2013

Re: SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

[ Edited ]

Hello Gopi

 

16Gbps SFP's are compatible with speeds 8Gbps & 4Gbps.

Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch? - No. If you plug in a 16Gbps SFP on a 8Gbps switch, it will not work, But you can have ISL between 16Gbps switch and a 8Gbps switch and set the speed on both the ends of the link to auto-negotiate.

 

BROCADE 16 GBPS SWL OPTICAL TRANSCEIVER

 

http://www.brocade.com/en/backend-content/pdf-page.html?/content/dam/common/documents/content-types/datasheet/16gbps-swl-spf-ds.pdf

 

Regards

DetentTorque

 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-21-2016

Re: SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

 

Please find the part details

 

Actual requirement is Part number : X-SMEPOD8-01-R6

Available part is X-SMED12POD-16G-R6 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,934
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

@detenttorque

 

--->>>16Gbps SFP's are compatible with speeds 8Gbps & 4Gbps.

 

Gopinath ask if he can used / insert 16Gbps SFP+ in 8Gbps platforms, and not about ISL compatibility.

 

 

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,934
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

you have here TWO total different Order number.

 

the one is 12 POD = 12 Port Upgrade License, the other is 8 POD = 8 Port Upgrade License Kit.

 

you cannot used 16G License in 8G platform.

 

i would suggest to contact you Local Brocade SE, or ask you OEM Supplier for exact part number.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-21-2016

Re: SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

 

 

 

Please find the details

 

Actual requirement is Part number : X-SMEPOD8-01-R6

Available part is X-SMED12POD-16G-R6 .

External Moderator
Posts: 4,934
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: SFP compatibility order is 8 Gbps; available is 16 Gbps. Can 16Gbps SFP work with 8 Gbps switch??

Gopinath,

 

sorry to say, but it make no sense to insist

 

Actual requirement is Part number : X-SMEPOD8-01-R6 = Upgarde for Brocade 300

Available part is X-SMED12POD-16G-R6 = Upgrade for Brocade 6510 and 6520

 

both are NetApp part / order number.

 

again, you cannot use 16G-R6 kit in brocade 300

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.