Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-08-2014

SAN Switch Port status shows as G-port instead of F-port. When we connect to VIO AIX hosts

We are facing problem when we connect the VIO AIX host to SAN switch port. It shows as G-Prot instead of F-Port and blinks with green signal at the port end. Is there any issue on host HBA settting to be checked? Below is the switchshow output.

 

 

Index Port Address Media Speed State     Proto
==============================================
  0   0   010000   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  20:14:00:80:e5:18:8c:c6
  1   1   010100   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:a5:8c:6e
  2   2   010200   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  50:03:08:c0:97:b9:40:99
  3   3   010300   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:8c:6a:8f
  4   4   010400   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:a5:8a:ec
  5   5   010500   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:a5:8c:6f
  6   6   010600   id    N4   Online      FC  G-Port
  7   7   010700   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:8b:5e:96
  8   8   010800   id    N8   Online      FC  F-Port  20:15:00:80:e5:18:8c:c6
  9   9   010900   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  50:03:08:c0:97:b9:40:91
 10  10   010a00   id    N8   No_Light    FC
 11  11   010b00   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  21:00:00:1b:32:13:86:b3
 12  12   010c00   id    N4   Online      FC  F-Port  10:00:00:00:c9:a4:d4:be
 13  13   010d00   id    N8   No_Light    FC
 14  14   010e00   id    N4   Online      FC  G-Port
 15  15   010f00   id    N2   Online      FC  F-Port  50:03:08:c0:97:b9:40:9d

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: SAN Switch Port status shows as G-port instead of F-port. When we connect to VIO AIX hosts

hi there,

 

can you post the output of "portcfgshow <port>", "portshow <port>", portstatsshow <port>" and "fabriclog --show"?

 

rgds

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2010

Re: SAN Switch Port status shows as G-port instead of F-port. When we connect to VIO AIX hosts

Hello -

Noticed that one of your storage port (50:03:08:c0:97:b9:40:9d) negotiated to N2 instead of N4.   May want to take a look at portstatsshow/fabriclog output for signs of issues for port 15.

-Andrew

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.