Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-27-2008

Resetting HTTP services without reboot?

I have a pair of IBM2498-B24 SAN switches (fabric A and fabric B) and have set them up for Active Directory authentification.  The first of the two switches had no problems but the second switch would not authenticate either AD or local using GUI to the HTTP services.  On the second switch, authentication to AD and local did work using SSH connections.  After several hours of trying different things we finally rebooted the second switch and all our problems cleared up.  My question is, "Is there a way to reset the HTTP services on a SAN switch without having to reboot?"

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Resetting HTTP services without reboot?

If you´re switch supports it, you could try a hareboot.

This should not interrupt FC traffic but reboots the FOS.

As root you have all linux commands at your disposal.

I guess, never tried it myself, you should be able to restart Apache/TomCat.

But if you mess up you´ll end up rebooting the entire switch.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: Resetting HTTP services without reboot?

Hi,

Log into the switch as root and execute /fabos/libexec/webdconfigure and answer 'yes' to the HTTP Restart question.

killing daemon httpd will also make the same effect.


Rgds

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-27-2008

Re: Resetting HTTP services without reboot?

Thanks felipon that got it.  Here is what I did:

1.            Log into the switch as root (not admin) and execute /fabos/libexec/webdconfigure and answer 'yes' to the HTTP Restart question.

                Example:  (note: answer yes to http atributes and HTTP Restart, then take defaults for the rest of the prompts)

                                fabbd70:root> /fabos/libexec/webdconfigure

                                                http attributes (yes, y, no, n): yes

                                                                HTTP Restart (yes, y, no, n): yes

                                                                HTTP enabled (yes, y, no, n):

                                                                ErrorLog Enabled (yes, y, no, n):

                                                                AccessLog Enabled (yes, y, no, n):

                                                                SSLLog Enabled (yes, y, no, n):

                                                                HTTP Port: (1..60000)

                                                                Secure HTTP Port: (1..60000)

                                                                HTTP IsAlive Check Enabled (yes, y, no, n):

                                                                HTTP Max HeapSize: (256..1024)

                                                webtools attributes (yes, y, no, n):

                                                cal attributes (yes, y, no, n):

                                Now wait a minute or two and do the following command to see if the HTTP processes are restarted:

fabbd70:root> ps -ef | grep http

root     23369     1  0 10:08 ?        00:00:00 /usr/apache/bin/httpd.0 -f /fabos/webtools/bin/httpd.conf.0
nobody   23370 23369  0 10:08 ?        00:00:00 /usr/apache/bin/fcgi-pm -f /fabos/webtools/bin/httpd.conf.0
nobody   23938 23369  0 10:53 ?        00:00:00 /usr/apache/bin/httpd.0 -f /fabos/webtools/bin/httpd.conf.0
nobody   23949 23369  0 10:54 ?        00:00:00 /usr/apache/bin/httpd.0 -f /fabos/webtools/bin/httpd.conf.0
nobody   23960 23369  0 10:55 ?        00:00:00 /usr/apache/bin/httpd.0 -f /fabos/webtools/bin/httpd.conf.0
root     24060 23978  0 10:55 pts/0    00:00:00 grep http

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.