Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-13-2016

Removing an old Switch and moving the ISL link to another in the Fabric

Hello All, 

 

We are wanting to remove an old fibre switch from each of our Fabrics.

Currently there is are 'upstream' connections from switch01 to switch09  

 

9 9 6d0500 id N2 Online FC E-Port 10:00:00:60:69:90:1f:29 "MUKHOFCSW01"

11 11 6d0100 id N2 Online FC E-Port 10:00:00:60:69:90:1f:29 "MUKHOFCSW01" (upstream)

 

We are wanting to remove Switch01 and move the ISL for Switch09, from Switch01 to Switch03 in the Fabric. 

What steps are need to acheive this? is it simply a case of connecting Switch03 to Switch09 and disabling the ports to switch01 and powering it off (for removal)? 

Is there need to disable any of the switches prior to any work and or any config saves / changes needed?

 

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

 

Cheers

 

Darren

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: Removing an old Switch and moving the ISL link to another in the Fabric

Hello,

 

Please can you share a drawing of the existing configuration showing ISLs connected in?

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-13-2016

Re: Removing an old Switch and moving the ISL link to another in the Fabric

http://s364.photobucket.com/user/njdgomez23/media/Darren_Allott_public_Fabric_A.jpg.html

 

Hopefully this will be ok. 

 

Sw05 is the Principle, though this is a HP C7000 blade chssis switch, this shouldn't really matter?

 

There is a Trunk from SW03 to SW01, and then 2 ISL links from SW01 to SW09 (no trunking that i can see) 

 

SW03:admin> switchshow
switchName: SW03
switchType: 32.0
switchState: Online
switchMode: Native
switchRole: Subordinate
switchDomain: 102
switchId: fffc66
switchWwn: 10:00:00:05:1e:04:a6:91
zoning: ON (FABRIC1ZONES)
switchBeacon: OFF

Index Port Address Media Speed State Proto
==============================================
28 28 661c00 id 2G Online FC E-Port (Trunk port, master is Port 29 )
29 29 661d00 id 2G Online FC E-Port 10:00:00:60:69:90:1f:29 "MUKHOFCSW01" (downstream)(Trunk master)
30 30 661e00 id 2G Online FC E-Port (Trunk port, master is Port 29 )
31 31 661f00 id 2G Online FC E-Port (Trunk port, master is Port 29 )


SW01:admin> switchshow
switchName: SW01
switchType: 12.4
switchState: Online
switchMode: Native
switchRole: Subordinate
switchDomain: 101
switchId: fffc65
switchWwn: 10:00:00:60:69:90:1f:29
zoning: ON (FABRIC1ZONES)
switchBeacon: OFF

Area Port Media Speed State Proto
=====================================
9 9 id N2 Online E-Port 10:00:00:05:33:75:aa:3d "MUKHOFCSSW09"
10 10 id N2 No_Light
11 11 id N2 Online E-Port 10:00:00:05:33:75:aa:3d "MUKHOFCSSW09" (downstream)
12 12 id 2G Online E-Port (Trunk port, master is Port 13 )
13 13 id 2G Online E-Port 10:00:00:05:1e:04:a6:91 "MUKHOFCSW03" (upstream)(Trunk master)
14 14 id 2G Online E-Port (Trunk port, master is Port 13 )
15 15 id 2G Online E-Port (Trunk port, master is Port 13 )

 

SW09:FID128:admin> switchshow
switchName: SW09
switchType: 66.1
switchState: Online
switchMode: Native
switchRole: Subordinate
switchDomain: 109
switchId: fffc6d
switchWwn: 10:00:00:05:33:75:aa:3d
zoning: ON (FABRIC1ZONES)
switchBeacon: OFF
FC Router: OFF
Allow XISL Use: OFF
LS Attributes: [FID: 128, Base Switch: No, Default Switch: Yes, Address Mode 0]

Index Port Address Media Speed State Proto
==============================================
9 9 6d0500 id N2 Online FC E-Port 10:00:00:60:69:90:1f:29 "MUKHOFCSW01"
10 10 6d0300 id N8 No_Light FC
11 11 6d0100 id N2 Online FC E-Port 10:00:00:60:69:90:1f:29 "MUKHOFCSW01" (upstream)

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 222
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: Removing an old Switch and moving the ISL link to another in the Fabric

Hello,

 

The picture is showing 5 switches (SW01, 03, 05, 07 and 09). Not sure what is the connection between the others switches.

Your description is showing that flow between SW03 and 09 are moving to SW01.

Moving ISL one by one from SW01 to SW03, be sure the first one is up and running before doing the other one. Fix speed of ISL port is recommended.

Fabric rebuilds will occur. Data moving from SW03 to SW09 will probably be affected during the changes for that Fabric.

About devices connectivity from SW01 if any, they will be moved to SW03 as well?

 

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.