Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-31-2010

Remove all configuratio data from Brocade Switch

Good Day all.

I am trying to de-configure a Brocade 5000b SAN Switch, and seeing some odd behaviour.  I have logged into the switch using the "root" account, and have issued the "configremoveall" command and answered all of the questions.  It then advised me that a switch reboot would be needed in order to commit the changes.  I did that with the "reboot" command, and after a while I tried logging back in and everything was still there.  It's like the Configremoveall didn;t do anything...

Can anyone help?  Basically these switches are to be returned to the vendor and we want to return them to an unconfigured state.

Thanks

Pat

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎02-13-2010

Re: Remove all configuratio data from Brocade Switch

Hi Pat,

As far as I know there is no single command to do it in one step. You have to:

configdefault -all

cfgdisable; cfgclear; cfgsave

ipaddrset  (to 10.77.77.77)

Reset passwords for all user accounts to their defaults.

licenseremove

switchname

Set fabric parameters to default values:

switchdisable; configure

Regular Contributor
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Remove all configuratio data from Brocade Switch

Hey, what FOS are you running?
This 'configremoveall' is not in the 6.2.x command reference guide.

The 'configremove' command only removes configuration files.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.