Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-25-2009

Registered State Change Notification (RSCN) and b300

Hello,

Brocade b300 is out of the matrix of the Apple's xsan . But it's the switch i have to use.

I need to do what is recommanded at . But i don't know how to do this.

Help is appreciated.

http://www.apple.com/xsan/resources/compatibility.html

http://support.apple.com/kb/TA24251

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Registered State Change Notification (RSCN) and b300

Brocade 300 is supported and approved by certain Mac OS and XServe, but whit restriction to diverse Array.

Is Apple XSAN a part of Software of Mac OS or XServe ? or is Apple XSAN a independent Product ?

I ask here beuase i don't have a big experience whit Mac OS and all they derivate Product, but i can see to find all info you need if this Product is supported.

I assume ( not sure ) the restriction is caused by a Chipset, Brocade 300 and 5300 fit another chipset as all other Brocade product.

What is you exact Issue ?

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-25-2009

Re: Registered State Change Notification (RSCN) and b300

I use b300 as switch and xyratex F5404E as storage.

Apple Xsan is an additional software provided by Apple. It is not part of MacOS or xserve.

My issue is that i have troubles with my xsan lab. When i start a copy, the copy hand. My issue is i need to do what is recommanded on but i don't know how to do. I'm not sure that this action will solve the issue, but one step after another.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Registered State Change Notification (RSCN) and b300

The kb as (2) you post here is from 2006 and XServe based.

I found follow info:

Mac OS X is supported by Brocade whit 300, but XServe is not.

Xyratex is not Supported and not Certified by Brocade whit Mac OS, XServer and XSAN whit Brocade 300 ( but is supported by 200, 4100, 4900,7500, 48000 and diverse Blade switch )

XSAN is not listed in the Brocade Certified list.

If this is not caused by chipset restriction, the 300 must work if the switch in in standard Fabric Mode configure because it based as like same chipset from a Brocade 200, but no warranty.

I'm realistic, I think this is a solution to play but not for a productive environment.
TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-25-2009

Re: Registered State Change Notification (RSCN) and b300

If Brocade supports MacOS, it is impossible that Xserve is not supported.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Registered State Change Notification (RSCN) and b300

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Registered State Change Notification (RSCN) and b300

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-25-2009

Re: Registered State Change Notification (RSCN) and b300

How to manage rscn with b300 ? I don't find this in the web interface.

Regards.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,780
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Registered State Change Notification (RSCN) and b300

as example whit the command "configure"

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-25-2009

Re: Registered State Change Notification (RSCN) and b300

Can you be more explicit ? This command looks very powerfull.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.