Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-08-2006

Ports persistent disabled on a new san switch

Hi,

We have an HP Blade chassis (C7000) with BL 460c G6 on our site.

There are 2 Brocade sanswitch inside.

We can't do any zoning configuration (such as create an alias for exemple) because all internal ports are persistent disabled (see below).

When we try to enable port, we get the following message : "Error when persistent enable port n - Operation not supported on this port."

What can we do ?

Persistent_disable.JPG

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Ports persistent disabled on a new san switch

Hi know such behavior from IBM Blade Center Chassis when some feature are disabled in the Chassis Management Module, in thsi case Switch Port Module.

I'm not familiary with HP BladeCenter, but i think this is the same as IBM please check in MM if such feature are available in order to enable Switch Port Module.

lmk

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Ports persistent disabled on a new san switch

I have faced this issue in my environment. you will be  able to do hardly anything.

In my environment hp people logged  in to the chassis on board administrator and enabled  2 ports which represents other ports.Then I got this type:

user> switchshow
switchName:     ab4_3
switchType:     72.3
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Subordinate
switchDomain:   49
switchId:       fffc31
switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:1e:c6:13:86
zoning:         ON (abc)
switchBeacon:   OFF

Area Port Media Speed State     Proto
=====================================
  0   0   --    N8   No_Module
  1   1   cu    N8   Online           F-Port  50:01:43:80:04:26:61:cc
  2   2   cu    N8   Online           F-Port  50:01:43:80:04:26:61:f8
  3   3   cu    N8   Online           F-Port  50:01:43:80:04:26:61:d4
  4   4   cu    N8   Online           F-Port  50:01:43:80:04:26:61:4c
  5   5   cu    AN   No_Sync          Disabled (Persistent)
  6   6   cu    AN   No_Sync          Disabled (Persistent)
  7   7   cu    AN   No_Sync          Disabled (Persistent)
  8   8   cu    AN   No_Sync          Disabled (Persistent)
  9   9   cu    N8   Online           F-Port  50:01:43:80:04:26:61:90
10  10   cu    N8   Online           F-Port  50:01:43:80:04:26:61:54
11  11   cu    AN   No_Sync          Disabled (Persistent)
12  12   cu    AN   No_Sync          Disabled (Persistent)
13  13   cu    AN   No_Sync          Disabled (Persistent)
14  14   cu    AN   No_Sync          Disabled (Persistent)
15  15   cu    AN   No_Sync          Disabled (Persistent)
16  16   cu    AN   No_Sync          Disabled (Persistent)
17  17   id    N4   Online           E-Port  10:00:00:05:1e:36:04:14 "ABC_48K1"
18  18   id    N4   Online           E-Port  10:00:00:05:1e:36:04:14 "ABC_48K1" (upstream)
19  19   id    N8   No_Light
20  20   id    N8   No_Light
21  21   --    N8   No_Module
22  22   --    N8   No_Module
23  23   --    N8   No_Module
So tell your vendor to enbale the ports from Onboard administrator.

Also pls post here if you will come to know how did u solve the problem. Normally they do not tell us, after doing the activity

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Ports persistent disabled on a new san switch

Chassis Management Module, or Onboard administrator as you mention here is the same.

And I'm quite sure nobody of HP people is required to login into the chassis for enable such stupid elementary features or function.

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Ports persistent disabled on a new san switch

<Chassis Management Module, or Onboard administrator as you mention here is the same>

That was a new chassis, installed by hp, so the people from hp not from SYBASE/MS/ORACLE came to enable the features.

I have always mentioned that :  in Chassis based SAN Sws, the admin  part is always divided. I work in  an environment , where SAN team and OS teams do not interfere in each other's activity.

It is only the vendor, who can do it or help you to do it.

BTW , you have connected only one ISL.

The best practice is to connect 2 ISLs for redundancy, and if possible buy a trunking license too.

GK
Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: Ports persistent disabled on a new san switch

simple.. use the following command to enable the disabled port.

# portcfgpersistentenable portnumber

Note: portnumber = slot no./port no  or port index no.

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Ports persistent disabled on a new san switch

Pls try it if it can help you, but I do not think, it is possible  thorugh onboard admin

GK
Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: Ports persistent disabled on a new san switch

the answer provided with practical proven scenario.. not just guessing.

LBourge, follow the commands as given.. if your issue gets resolved, mark its answered.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-08-2006

Re: Ports persistent disabled on a new san switch

sansw15:admin> portcfgpersistentenable 1
portcfgpersistentenable failed.  Operation not supported.

This is the problem.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-08-2006

Re: Ports persistent disabled on a new san switch

Hi Hemant,

The vendor is trying to find a solution...

It seems to be a bit difficult to him to !

But i'm confident : it's only a question of time now.

If i learn the solution i'll make a feel back.

Regards

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.