Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor

Newbie Needs SNMP Help

I am a Brocade newbie and due to security concerns I need to disable SNMP functionality on one of my 5140 switches from all IP addresses. Current FabOS version is 6.3.0c. I have gone through the FabOS Administrator's guide, Forum Search, and the FabOS Command Reference, but all I really need is a sanity check from you experts on the proper syntax. I was going to use either an IpFilter command or snmpConfig command (of course if you know of a better or easier way, please let me know). Anyway, here is my current syntax for you to review and ensure that I am doing this correctly as it is in a production environment:

>ipfilter --show
>ipfilter --create NoSNMP –type ipv4
>ipfilter --addrule NoSNMP –rule  -sip * (can i use this * as a wildcard for all IP addresses?) –dp 161 –proto tcp –act deny
>ipfilter --save NoSNMP
>ipfilter --activate NoSNMP

AND/OR:

>snmpconfig --show
>snmpconfig --set snmpv3
>snmpconfig --default snmpv3
>snmpconfig --set mibcapability 0
>snmpconfig --set seclevel 3

Do the above commands require a switchDisable/switchEnable before and after?

Could you experts please verify that my syntax is correct, and annotate where it is not? Thanks a bunch in advance all.

Occasional Contributor

Re: Newbie Needs SNMP Help

I would not consider myself an expert, but I have a little experience with messing up my ipfilter... so I'll share what I know.  The first time I created one, I made a mistake by just creating and not cloning.  The only thing we do with ours is to disallow telnet.  I created a policy that only had disallow telnet, activated it, and lost all connection ability to my mgmt because the only thing the rule said was don't allow telnet on port 23.  So, given that, I would suggest cloning your current policy, deleting any rule you don't want, and adding any new rules you want.  My thought would be more like this:

ipfilter --show