Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-16-2013
Accepted Solution

Mirroring between two san

Hi,

I have two IBM DS 5020 san. I have also mirroring on them. Or had. Until I moved one of the in another data center. It seems that I cannot enable the mirroring again. 

 

Between the datacenters I have black fiber. So a fabric over 50 km. But it works fine. All licenses are in place, configuration ok. I have two links actually between the data centers. But one of them is up.

 

For the DS, I connect FC port used for mirroring to the san switch. I see that both SAN communicate with the fiber switches. I see the WWNs. So I have created the connection betwen them. 

 

Here is the configuration for each san switch port used by the SAN.


Area Number:              9
Speed Level:              4G
Fill Word:                    1(Arbff-Arbff)
AL_PA Offset 13:      OFF
Trunk Port                  ON
Long Distance           OFF
VC Link Init                OFF
Locked L_Port          OFF
Locked G_Port         OFF
Disabled E_Port       OFF
Locked E_Port          OFF
ISL R_RDY Mode    OFF
RSCN Suppressed  OFF
Persistent Disable   OFF
LOS TOV enable     OFF
NPIV capability        ON
QOS E_Port              AE
Port Auto Disable:   OFF
Rate Limit                 OFF
Mirror Port                OFF
Credit Recovery     ON
F_Port Buffers        OFF
Fault Delay:           0(R_A_TOV)
NPIV PP Limit:       126
CSCTL mode:        OFF

 

I have tried with WORDFILL having values 0 and 3. Did not work.

 

The error i get is 180 - cannot communicate with the remote storage subsystem to complete this request.

 

Any tips much appreciated.

Thank you!

Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-16-2013

Re: Mirroring between two san

To mention that the GBICs i am using are Brocade 8Gb. But I have configured the speed to be 4 Gb, as the controller supports. I have tried with 8 Gb as well. Does not work. Were 4 Gb before, but I do not think that this should be an issue.

 

Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-16-2013

Re: Mirroring between two san

And one mor thing. On the main SAN, I see two small Logical Drives called MIRROR REPOSITORY. Should those be deleted?

Before moving the SAN, I have stopped the mirroring process. Not suspended, but stoped. 

Thanks.

Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-16-2013

Re: Mirroring between two san

My mistake. I have mixed the controllers. A has to speak with A and B has to speak with B.

Smiley Very Happy

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-02-2015

Re: Mirroring between two san

Hello Alexia,

did you mean that only mistake that you had is mixing on zoning controlars A & B?

i have the same issue and need your help

Contributor
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎07-16-2013

Re: Mirroring between two san

Yes

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.